1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

using chain wrench on pulley

Discussion in 'Engine Building' started by joker01, Aug 23, 2011.

  1. joker01

    joker01 Member

    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Location:
    caribbean, St.Lucia
    hey guys got fustrated with waiting for a mechanic to help me out i saw guy post a vid on youtube with him using a chain wrench to help remove crank pulley bolt and i am gin to get one tomor but the dude did show exactly weh he mouted up the chain wrench on the pulley n how he did so if anyone here has ever attempted this plz let me kno how thnx
     
  2. efhondakid

    efhondakid My name is Byron. VIP

    Messages:
    7,034
    Likes Received:
    202
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    Akron-Canton, Ohio
    Ive seen them work and Ive seen them not.
     
  3. crxhfz6

    crxhfz6 Member

    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Location:
    Manhattan, KS
    id say just go get the pulley holder. it was so much easier
     
  4. josh_crewdson@y

    josh_crewdson@y New Member

    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    nova
    pully holder x2. 50 bucks on ebay, it pays for itself the first time you get the bolt off in 2min..
     
  5. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Pulley holders do not work if there's no cut-out for them. IMO, big impact wrench is the easiest.
     
  6. blong401

    blong401 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    chain wrench will work. just make sure you cut a little peice off an old drive belt to place between the chain wrench and crank so you won't damage it. I'm a tech for toyota and that's how i remove the cranks pulley.
     
  7. |Chaz|

    |Chaz| Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    6,125
    Likes Received:
    253
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Washington
    Rent a big ass electric impact wrench, cheapest way to do it.
     
  8. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,032
    Likes Received:
    3,959
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    this will get it off

    Ingersoll-Rand 3955B2TI Impact Wrench, 1.5 In Dr, 1600-4000 Ft Lb
    [​IMG]

    Air Inlet (In.) ------------------------------ 1/2
    Anvil --------------------------------------- Standard
    Average CFM @ 15 Second Run Time ----- 15.0
    CFM @ Full Load -------------------------- 80.0
    Free Speed (RPM) ------------------------- 2750
    Housing ------------------------------------ Titanium Hammer Case
    Item ---------------------------------------- Pneumatic Impact Wrench
    Max. Bolt Capacity (In.) -------------------- 1-1/2
    Max. Torque (Ft.-Lb.) ---------------------- 5000
    Min. Hose (In.) ----------------------------- 3/4
    Overall Length (In.) ------------------------- 16-1/2
    Required Pressure (PSI) -------------------- 90
    Retainer Type ------------------------------ Thru Hole
    SKUs -------------------------------------- 1FYD4
    Square Drive Size (In.) --------------------- 1-1/2
    Style --------------------------------------- D-Handle
    Torque Range (Ft.-Lb.) -------------------- 1600 to 4000
    Type --------------------------------------- Industrial Duty
    Weight ------------------------------------- 38.13
    Weight (Lbs.) ------------------------------ 34.6
     
  9. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    150
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    Oh my, that's a whole lotta powa! It might flip the motor over from all the torque and cause some serious damage :p
     
  10. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    wow 1.5" drive; do they even make a 17mm socket for that? lol
     
  11. efhondakid

    efhondakid My name is Byron. VIP

    Messages:
    7,034
    Likes Received:
    202
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    Akron-Canton, Ohio
    The motor? More like the whole car!
     
  12. joker01

    joker01 Member

    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Location:
    caribbean, St.Lucia
    the pulley tool wotn work on my crank and impact wrench cant rent those tolls here n i dont trust anyone wit my car at the mechanics shop on my island i wonder if i jam the toque converter if it will work
     
  13. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    They have tools that hold the flywheel or you can try using a screwdriver or something(I've never had luck with that).

    You don't have to drop your car off at the auto shop for them to loosen it. Usually, they can get to it by simply turning the wheel or just removing that one wheel, zip it off with the gun, then reinstall the bolt with a ratchet so you can take it off yourself when you get home.
     
  14. Jeef

    Jeef NO MA'AM Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    7,150
    Likes Received:
    294
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    I bet the user would be thrown around doing circles.
     
  15. joker01

    joker01 Member

    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Location:
    caribbean, St.Lucia
  16. joker01

    joker01 Member

    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Location:
    caribbean, St.Lucia
    hey guys updating this thread, got my nigga to remove the pulley bolt by jamming the toque converter wit an allan key and it worked so we replaced water pump and timed engined but it still wasnt starting....so we diagnosed the prob the to b the rotor screw got loose and fucked up inside the dizzy ama post pic tomorr
     
  17. joker01

    joker01 Member

    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Location:
    caribbean, St.Lucia
    hey guys i might have to chnge my ecu so which one would i have to use on it cuz am still wit my auto tranny wit a d15b non vtec motor
     
  18. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Assuming it's OBD1, use a auto P06 out of a 92-95 Civic DX.
     
  19. joker01

    joker01 Member

    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Location:
    caribbean, St.Lucia
    jus identified the ecu its obd0 :[
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page