1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

v-tec controller

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by StupidSlowEG, Jul 14, 2008.

  1. StupidSlowEG

    StupidSlowEG n00b

    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Location:
    Deland, Florida
    I bought a y8 head for a6 block and now i need a vtec controller, but i dont know which one is recommended so i was wondering if any one could recommend some v-tec controllers thanks guys
     
  2. StupidSlowEG

    StupidSlowEG n00b

    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Location:
    Deland, Florida
    I dont want it tuned i just need a v-tec controller like the apexi v-afc
     
  3. StupidSlowEG

    StupidSlowEG n00b

    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Location:
    Deland, Florida
    wouldnt it be the same if i got a fuel pressure regulator?
     
  4. Bkkfarang

    Bkkfarang New Member

    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Location:
    Bangkok and Shenzhen
    no , not even close raising fuel pressure is not the same a a fuel map
     
  5. Luis998

    Luis998 Honda Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    55
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    Hey Scott, I think this question might be on the subject. Whenever doing a mini-me, should one use an aftermarket cam gear in order to help adjust the timing?

    Also, why would one opt to use a B-series ECU on a D? Is it because of what you stated, that "your engine will have more fuel and timing in VTEC or it will blow up?"
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2008
  6. B16RacerN2NR

    B16RacerN2NR Working Hard VIP

    Messages:
    6,148
    Likes Received:
    99
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Location:
    Moving back West...
    The cam gear will help with mechanical timing. Blanco is speaking of ignition timing...

    He suggested the B-Series ECU because 1) it's (pr3, pw0) the only OBD-0 Vtec ECU's available and 2) More fuel/running rich is better than running lean. Not that running rich is good, just that it's the lesser of two evils :D
     
    1 person likes this.
  7. efhondakid

    efhondakid My name is Byron. VIP

    Messages:
    7,034
    Likes Received:
    202
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    Akron-Canton, Ohio
    You need an adjustable cam gear when doing a mini-me because if not the timing will be half a tooth off.
     
  8. Luis998

    Luis998 Honda Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    55
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    If I could rep the three of you right now I would, but for some odd reason my dad's computer hates for me to even attempt to rep. That's a Pentium III 450mhz for you. haha

    Thanks to the three of you for clearing that up. I have been hesitant to attempt a mini-me on my Y7 because I had those questions and a few more. Still, I am not one to ask a gazillion questions without doing my best to research the topic first.

    If I were to, and to the OP, I do not mean to thread jack...use a Y8 head on a Y7 block, then the obvious ECU to use would be a P2E, correct? However, a chipped P28, after converting to OBD1 would work even better, correct?
     
  9. teggyguy

    teggyguy high density foot.

    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Location:
    Colorado
    mini-me so cute.
    hehe
     
  10. StupidSlowEG

    StupidSlowEG n00b

    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Location:
    Deland, Florida

    You said a 1,5 L block I have the a6 block isnt that 1.6 L
     
  11. B16RacerN2NR

    B16RacerN2NR Working Hard VIP

    Messages:
    6,148
    Likes Received:
    99
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Location:
    Moving back West...
    Either or... Any configuration of a 'frankenstien' motor weather it be D-Series or B-Series have slight cam timing problems. Think about it, you're taking two motors to make one motor... it's not gonna fit like a glove...
     
  12. StupidSlowEG

    StupidSlowEG n00b

    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Location:
    Deland, Florida
    So i should just scrap the contorller and get the obd0 b16 ecu?
     
  13. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    No, what you should really do is do the appropriate wiring conversions so that you can run an OBD1 ECU, and then get it chipped and tuned to your specific setup.

    If you're not willing to do that, then the B16 ECU is your next best bet. It still won't be perfect, but it's still preferable to using a VTEC controller and your stock ECU...
     
  14. StupidSlowEG

    StupidSlowEG n00b

    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Location:
    Deland, Florida
    so the best thing to do is to convert to OBD1
     
  15. Bkkfarang

    Bkkfarang New Member

    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Location:
    Bangkok and Shenzhen
    do it right once and your usally happy , do it wrong 4 times and some one will buy your car for cheap later
     
  16. Luis998

    Luis998 Honda Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    55
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    B16Racer and Scott....thank you guys. I was able to rep both of you. :thumbsup: Byron, I tried, but I have to spread it around some more. :D

    I'm thinking that with my inexperience I will be better off not doing a mini-me.
     
  17. B16RacerN2NR

    B16RacerN2NR Working Hard VIP

    Messages:
    6,148
    Likes Received:
    99
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Location:
    Moving back West...
    :thumbsup:
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page