1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

v-tec kickin when?

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by K-V-NO, Aug 26, 2003.

  1. K-V-NO

    K-V-NO Member

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003
    just installed ctr cams in b16, v-tec now kickin @ 4800rpm, should i have the ecu chip and have v-tec kickin later. any suggestions?
     
  2. sohcslammer

    sohcslammer Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    No.
     
  3. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Changing your cams won't change your crossover point.
     
  4. sohcslammer

    sohcslammer Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area

    I started to type that too and realized he just worded it fucked up. He is asking if he should chip his ECU to cross it over l8r. I'm not sure what a B16's stock X-over is so I figured it was @ 4800. That seems a little low now though.
     
  5. cycloneb18c3

    cycloneb18c3 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Location:
    New Jersey
    what ecu are you using? 4800 sounds like a SOHC, a spoon chipped ecu, or that ur using a vtec controller. I dont think any stock honda program kicks the vtec at 4800 for a dohc.
     
  6. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,622
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD

    i dont know ecu specs or anything but i wouldnt doubt that vtec could kick in at 4800 stock. hell my b18c hits vtec at 4400. and yes thats the stock crossover point with the stock obd1 p72 ecu.
     
  7. K-V-NO

    K-V-NO Member

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003

    the stock b16 ecu is being used, seems like its kickin a little too early, no, should it be set to kickin later. someone mention to chip ecu and have v-tec set @ 8000rpm and get a v-tec controller to set my v-tec.
     
  8. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Setting your vtec at 8000 is also usless, unless you have cams and a valve train that can rev higher than that and make power. The P30 is 5500 I believe, or 5800, but you probably have a PR3? I think the cross over on those is a little lower.
     
  9. CRXRookie

    CRXRookie Senior Member

    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Wow, whoever told you to set the vtec at 8000 rpm is a complete moron.
     
  10. 90crxb16a

    90crxb16a Senior Member

    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Location:
    Ft Myers FLORIDA
    i have a pr3 on my b16 and my Vtec kicks in at 5500 rpm's
     
  11. K-V-NO

    K-V-NO Member

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2003

    mine's a pr3, v-tec was kickin @ 5500, since installin the ctr cams it's @ 4800
     
  12. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.

    There you go.
     
  13. khai_tuan_nguyen

    khai_tuan_nguyen Senior Member

    Messages:
    581
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    What is a Pr3-3 on a head? 99-00 civic si?
     
  14. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.

    B16A casting code, it is also on the block underneath on the driverside
     
  15. Bl6CRX

    Bl6CRX Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2003
    Location:
    UCLA
    Yeah, im not sure if id have it that low, more like 5200-5500 sounds better but besides that it would be fun to have VTEC kick in at 8 (i know its a stupid idead for performance) but when we were bored one day and started messing with my bros VAFC and made it kick in at 6500ish the cross over is intense, pulls so hard
     
  16. seanjuan

    seanjuan Senior Member

    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN

    Vtec crossover shouldn't be "intense", if tuned properly it should be a continuos power gain with no drastic spikes

    it is my understanding that you should not "feel" vtec, it should be a smooth transition into the high lobe. at least that is what my car is like I have a stock jdm P30 and vtec engages anywhere from 5800 to 6500 depending on how hard I'm accelerating. the only thing I notice when vtec kicks in is a change in the sound of the engine as it starts to breath more

    the stock ECU takes more factors into account than just rpm to determine when to switch to the high lobe on the cam, and unless you have tuned the vtec point on something other than a butt dyno you probably shouldn't mess with Honda's engineering

    flame on

    edit: it's very possible that installing new cams could change the vtec point because the ECU should be able to adapt to the new cams
     
  17. sohcslammer

    sohcslammer Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    You are right in the fact that VTEC should be a smooth transition and not be "intense" but your X-over does NOT switch with throttle and cams. A ECU is programed to switch cam lobes at a pre-determened RPM. Always.
     
  18. omega11855

    omega11855 Senior Member

    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    n3g(negative) cams wont automatically change vtec point ecu cant adapt like that
    but depending on load if ecu is still in closed loop vtec wont kick in neccisarily at a specified rpm for example i just drove to san fran and when i was coasting :ph34r: (dont ask but from la to san fran it was like 4.5hrs)(great time) at 5900 vtec didnt kick in it only kicked in if i got it to 6200 coasting ie not floored this is on a stock p73 ecu vtec point changes based on conditions but there are set parameters as i said regardless of how much throttle at 6200ish it changed over no mater what
     
  19. seanjuan

    seanjuan Senior Member

    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    this is what I found about vtec crossover



    this is the page it came from


    it seems to make sense to me
     
  20. sohcslammer

    sohcslammer Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area

    Edit: OK, you're right.

    And I made it from Lafayette to LA in 4 hours 10 minutes so :moon: (Yes, it's about 110-120 the whole way with 1 stop.)
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page