1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

V tec not workin ;-(

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by johnOBD, Oct 8, 2010.

  1. johnOBD

    johnOBD New Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    V tec not workin ;-) SORTED YO

    hi guys. so my v tec is not kicking in at all.

    here is a few things i have tried . .

    fault code check nothin showed up :eek:
    v tec solenoid checked (working fine)
    cleaned v tec housing filter (even tho was clean)

    now the v tec pressure switch i have yet too check... not sure how too check it maybe for continuity????
    also power supply check.

    hope something shows up , cause after that im lost.

    turned out to be loose connection for speedo at ecu[​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
    funny how its always the simple things that can fuck with ya head . she fecking FLYIN NOW V TEC 4LIFE YO

    thanks lads for all replies [​IMG]


    thanks john.
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2010
  2. PhyRe

    PhyRe Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,002
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    ct
    wired correctly? correct ecu? whats set up?
     
  3. johnOBD

    johnOBD New Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    B16A motor OBD1 , P30 E C U there was no wiring involved as its just plug and play.


    cheers john.
     
  4. tabKola

    tabKola New Member

    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Location:
    Tewksbury MA
    How do you know that it is not kicking in?
     
  5. johnOBD

    johnOBD New Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010

    are you serious??
     
  6. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,417
    Likes Received:
    154
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    Not sure on the car....but I am guessing it was a swap...since you are on Honda Swap. And you wrote of it being plug-n-play so the shell must be a 92 Civic or a 93-95 Civic EX, Si, VX. or Del Sol Si....or maybe a Del Sol B16A3 VTEC??

    Have you made sure that your CEL bulb is still good?

    I know you said its a P30 but are you sure its good?....or if its a Virgin??
     
  7. johnOBD

    johnOBD New Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    yeah man complete swap(including full engine /interior harness) from JDM del sol... the sol was my run around before swap . the thing is even before i did swap the v tec stopped workin it started off not kicking in as good as it would then it would not kick in at all. im getting continuity from pressure switch??
     
  8. johnOBD

    johnOBD New Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
  9. bluejcivic

    bluejcivic New Member

    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    did you wire in you knock sensor? does you speedo work? check for faulty wires at the vss sensor.
     
  10. johnOBD

    johnOBD New Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    speedo works , how ever the knock sensor now keeps poping up on fault code check. did not think KS would have anything too do with vtec,

    thanks for reply
     
  11. bluejcivic

    bluejcivic New Member

    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    when you have a bad knock sensor it disables vtec, retards timing and dumps extra fuel in. how ever i have had vtec still work with a knock sensor that was broke in two lol.
     
  12. johnOBD

    johnOBD New Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    :confused: mmm when i reset E C U the cel light comes on , but its code 2 that is secondary 02sensor (after the cat ) i did not bodher hooking that up as it is not that important.
    so my question is !! with the cel light on . is this causing v tec not too engage ?
    safety mode kinda thingy:huh:

    ps the time differents SUCKS
     
  13. bluejcivic

    bluejcivic New Member

    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    double check your wires going to the ecu for vtec
     
  14. johnOBD

    johnOBD New Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010

    dude i just found a broken wire at E C U colour is yellow/white lookin at wiring diagram its for speedo.. did not get chance too drive car yet but looking promising .... ill post up IF SHE KICKS IN YO!!!:D
     
  15. 95EGCoupeVtec

    95EGCoupeVtec SOHC VTEC at its best

    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Location:
    South Mississippi
  16. bluejcivic

    bluejcivic New Member

    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    fuck yeah shes gonna work lol
     
  17. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,417
    Likes Received:
    154
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    Its weird that you figure its an existing problem if you swapped the whole engine and interior harnesses when transplanting the swap. But I read on and you spoke of the a speedo wire messed up at the ECU? That would effect VTEC engagement. I have heard of Knock sensor code will also retard the timing and its a mild version of a limp mode but I cannot verify it....just things I have been told and have read. Mine is definitely hooked up based on the opinions of others....I would just wire it up. IMO, Its kinda trashy not having things hooked up when they can be. Keep it clean Bro!
     
  18. johnOBD

    johnOBD New Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    WTF can you believe it guys she still wont kick in . i keep gettin code 14 witch is IACV car is chuckin like feck when come off throttle then back on throttle
    I GIVE UP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  19. Pizzo

    Pizzo New Member

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago
    IAC Valve (Idle Air Control)
    defective circuit or unplugged / defective sensor

    I like the defective circuit or unplugged part.. Why IAC's are not normally defective in our application.. Not saying it can't happen But I would start checking the wiring and the connections first. Before slapping a new one on. Check the connector and see if the wires are pushed out.. And not making a good connection... I had that problem with my oil pressure sensor when I did the swap on my Civic..
    You also stated before you have a wiring schematic.. Ohm test your wires to see if you have a short in your wires.. If not then its most likely the IAC Valve or the ECM

    Another Option is taking the IAC valve off and see if its closed or open if its open or has carbon holding it open clean it out and reinstall.. It may be stuck open a little.. If it won't close or free up and open and close freely then replace it...

    Hope that helps
    Tommy Pizzo
     
  20. johnOBD

    johnOBD New Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    BUMP to let the homies know im sorted ;-)
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page