1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

V-tech head SOHC on a non-V-tech SOHC

Discussion in 'Engine Building' started by MJ93Hatchback, Mar 31, 2008.

  1. MJ93Hatchback

    MJ93Hatchback New Member

    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Hey guys, looking for some info or maybe a link that can show me how to put a sohc v-tech head on a sohc non-vtech motor. Thanks in advance on any info or help.
     
  2. Turbo&Auto

    Turbo&Auto Nick Go FAST!!

    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    29
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Location:
    East Burg, PA!
    What kinda hp do you get when you add a 900mhz home phone to the motor??? :rofl:

    Edit: I bet he's wondering why there isnt a million people responding.
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2008
  3. MJ93Hatchback

    MJ93Hatchback New Member

    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    excuse me v-tech, i do apologize
     
  4. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    it vtec ,,,and try the search button
     
  5. Turbo&Auto

    Turbo&Auto Nick Go FAST!!

    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    29
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Location:
    East Burg, PA!
    LOL. He even tried to be a dick and got it wrong! :lol:
     
  6. get_nick

    get_nick These snozzberries taste like snozzberries... VIP

    Messages:
    11,939
    Likes Received:
    1,059
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    Washington State
    why do people keep posting this shit??? there is no such thing as a mini me and it's impossible to put a vtec head on a non-vtec block. i swear to god this is a fake setup. there is absolutely no fucking info on the entire net about this. I call :bs:
     
  7. MJ93Hatchback

    MJ93Hatchback New Member

    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    actually I wasn't trying to be a dick however i didn't know a simple mis spelled word would bother people so much
     
  8. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    yeah no shit it's like not knowing how to spell Honda!

    dont even attempt it if you havnt popped your hood and read the valve cover for cryin out loud... because as you know, most all will say VTEC.

    Variable Valve Timing and Electronic Lift Control

    this thread should be locked, cuz honestly, no more posts on this subject are neccessary!!!!! go search!

    Google
    Hondoogle
    HondaSwap Forums - Search Forums
     
  9. 90 accord

    90 accord Chicks dig the box Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    5,008
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Mesa, AZ
    am i the only one that thinks that if he cant even spell vtec properly (mis spelled it 3 times, so, no it wasn't a typo) he probably shouldnt attempt this?
     
  10. Turbo&Auto

    Turbo&Auto Nick Go FAST!!

    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    29
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Location:
    East Burg, PA!
    agreed. We're bothered by the post for a question thats been asked and covered many times. And to top it off you cant even spell Vtec correctly....I mean c'mon. Ive never in my life owned a car with Vtec yet I know how to spell it....
     
  11. MJ93Hatchback

    MJ93Hatchback New Member

    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    well I am sorry for bringing up a post that has often been on here a 120293 times, and yes I have seen vtec on the valve cover, not mine because i have a NON vtec so i couldn't pop my hood and see it and I am not doing it by myself a friend is helping me that knows what he is doing, and were only gonna do this mini-me swap because the turbo kit I am getting is for a vtec head, and even though I am getting a new motor in a month we figured we'd go ahead and put it on this motor so i can get used to driving a turbocar. However I am a noob at this stuff so I am learning as I go along, (not being sarcastic) but thanks for the info that a few posted. The reason I prob. couldn't find much on it at first was because I was spelling vtec wrong ha. sorry to bother yall with a noob post
     
  12. philyphreak2127

    philyphreak2127 Back in the Game

    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Littleton, co
    bro just by this post right here you should not even be working on hondas. The motor you are building should fit just about any kit from any d-series motor that honda has made with a few exceptions. So the kit you are buying will fit on your motor without needing to swap a vtec head on your motor. which by the way you can do and it is called a mini-me setup when on a d-series motor. Since I am guessing I have confused you with the whole d-series thing I will explain that too. But read carefully because I am more forgiving for noobness than most people on this site. They will tear you a new one and not think twice about it. Anyways there should be a flat piece of metal with a series of numbers and letters on your block to the left of the head. It should say something like d15b7 or d16y7 something like that the d is where you get d-series obviously. K now you know the basics for the rest of it research.
     
  13. MJ93Hatchback

    MJ93Hatchback New Member

    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    i appreciate your patience with noobness but I am not that much of a noob, i know that letters and all mean and where to find them.. for example..D15b7 means I have a D-series motor 1.5L witha b7 head... but the turbo I am buying is used and it has already been tuned, but it was tuned for a vtec, part of the reason were doing the mini-me swap, other part is my friend has like a bunch of engines lying around so why not put the vtec head on it anyways that will just give it that much more power too. I am a noob at most of the stuff but I know a little more than I prob. show or is coming off in this thread.
     
  14. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    wrong lol,,but for real try to search a little there are tons and tons of helpful info on this site
     
  15. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    B7 is a variant. NOT the head. your a noob. face it. k i guess you couldn't pop your hood, dont know what i was thinking.

    but who knows, maybe you had a B16 (vtec), and wanted to put a 1.8l block from a non-vtec motor...since you never specified what you were working with. the majority of posts these days are about making a B20 vtec.

    you REALLY need to go read. the turbo can still work....

    turbo's are not tuned

    if you mean the computer, you got an ecu that has a tuned fuel map in it with the kit, you better not use it unless you have the same motor with the exact same parts

    turbo's are not specific to having vtec or not


    read, read, read, search, then read some more
     
  16. MJ93Hatchback

    MJ93Hatchback New Member

    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    well i have been saying all along i am a noob...I know the different series and a little about them, the reason I said b7 was the head because on a mini-me swap post I found thats what that guy said...but what I am working with is a the d15b7 it's a sohc NON v-tec ....and as far as the tune yeah the computer part is what I was saying and keep in mind I am going by what I have been told, but they guy had it tuned (the ecu) on a d16y8 which is a v-tec so my buddy was saying if were were gonna hook it up on my Non v-tec that we would prob have to get something changed in it to work properly on my non v-tec head, i don't remember exactly what he said he knows all about the stuff I am just trying to learn...and he knows how to do the mini me swap I was just posting it so I could research it, in which I found a great write up on it yesterday online step for step, with pictures and everything on google..but.were going to go talk to the guy that tuned it when we get it to see exactly what we need to do for it to work straight on my engine...and incase yall were wondering exactly what I was getting here is the turbo set-up -
    T25 Turbo
    Hf Manifold
    Tuner Toys Oil Lines and Oil tee
    Dsm 450 injectors and resistor box
    Phearable.net ecu tuned with chrome by Matthew Shue In RIchmond on a d16y8
    obd2a-obd1 conversion harness
    Sunpro Boost gauge and nylon lines and fittings
     
  17. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    Your friend knows it all, yet he's spreading misinformation to you, good luck with that.

    You just don't listen either. Did you miss the part where they told you a turbo isn't tuned, not to mention just because someone sells you an tuned ECU doesn't mean it's tuned for YOUR motor, not just your type of motor, but your exact motor, the one that's in YOUR car.
     
  18. MJ93Hatchback

    MJ93Hatchback New Member

    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    well he has done many motor swaps D engines, B engines, and rebuilt some motors so I would have to say he's not too much of a newb, I probably just mis understood what he was saying or herd him wrong, which is probably the case... I am listening to your answers, but ya'll are telling me everything is ready to go then?...just thought the mini me would be good for some extra power ya know
     
  19. MJ93Hatchback

    MJ93Hatchback New Member

    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    yeah I understand that from what yall were saying in earlier post, and like I said, most likely what happened was I mis understood what he was saying exacltly because he loves hondas and doing this stuff and he will go into detail about every little thing when we talk about doing something, and sometimes I prob get things mixed up.. I mean I can understand what he says for the most part and how the stuff will work but i have never got up under the car or under the hood and done the stuff...but yeah I get what your all saying and I appreciate everyones help
     
  20. MJ93Hatchback

    MJ93Hatchback New Member

    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    and yes I said in my previous post that it's not the turbo its the ecu and that I understood that...but maybe thats what my friend was talking about getting the ECU tuned to my motor
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page