1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

V-tech problem on b16a2

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by sciroccob16a2, Oct 12, 2008.

  1. sciroccob16a2

    sciroccob16a2 New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    I have some mods on my 2000 civic si. The v-tec is programed to engage @ 4800 rpm and as it engages the motor seems to loose power slightly.:huh: When higher rpm is reached, to be specific 6300, the power increases gradually and keeps increasing dramatically until red line. Has someone come across this problem?
    mods include: skunk2 stage 1 cams, 11:1 pr3 teflon coated pistons, adjustable cam gears, skunk2 chipped p28 ecu, cold intake, header, performance cat, exhaust
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2008
  2. 99sidude

    99sidude Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    3,707
    Likes Received:
    170
    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    Its probably the chip. Is that the generic skunk2 chip, or was your car actually tuned on a dyno? I've only heard negative things about the skunk2 chips.
     
  3. sciroccob16a2

    sciroccob16a2 New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    I forgot to mention that this problem was there with the stock ecu. Could it be possible that the vtec solenoid is bad?
     
  4. Hairy '85 Si

    Hairy '85 Si New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    You didn't mention which engine you have or which ECU you are running, OBD1 or OBD2
     
  5. FLounder

    FLounder power hungry VIP

    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    137
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Location:
    north palm beach, FL
    it needs to be tuned... and that engine would probably like a higher vtec crossover than 4800.
     
  6. Justin66

    Justin66 The Hondaswap Canadian

    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Location:
    Peterborough, Ontario
    Well i have a few chips, one set VTEC at 5800 and another at 4400. I currently have the 4400 in and when it first engages, especially in a higher gear nothing really happens til you reach around 5500 or, its just where the powerband is on the B16a. I personally have noticed, between the chips, that in first and second gear (since the RPM increases faster) having VTEC low seems to feel better than up higher, also engaging that low in a higher gear (RPM climbs slower) it feels like its dragging. Its just the powerband, i wouldnt worry much about it. A tuner will help you figure this out.
     
  7. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    He has a 2000 Civic Si. Obviously it's a B16A2, and he clearly stated that he's using a chipped P28, which would make it OBD1. Read carefully before you respond please...
     
  8. civicmulisha

    civicmulisha New Member

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Location:
    las vegas
    set ur v tec to engage at a higher rpm 4800 is a little low for a car with cams try like 5500 maybe 5200 and do u have a vtec controler or hondata in the car
     
  9. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    He has a fucking Skunk2 chip in a P28 ECU! Jesus, does anyone read before they post?
     
  10. sciroccob16a2

    sciroccob16a2 New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    Compression bump, cams and the other mods helped to bring some more life out of this motor @ low rpm but the vtec seems to be taking from that. Maybe it is a good idea to engage it @ higher rpm. But the car would be much more driver friendly if the range of the power band was greater than only 2500 rpm. To explain this again more specifically, 2500-4700rpm feels like 120 hp[​IMG], vtec engages @ 4800 and it's like the A/C was turned on until 6000rpm[​IMG], 6000-6500 rpm feels like a non existent nitrous oxide button was triggered and 6500- 8500 rpm seems like close to, if not 200 hp[​IMG]. A friend also told me to take it to a tuner but since I've installed and tuned everything up to this point, I thought that someone on these forums will share a similar experience with a solution.
     
  11. Justin66

    Justin66 The Hondaswap Canadian

    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Location:
    Peterborough, Ontario
    Even a Type R feels like 120 HP before VTEC, its just how it is.
     
  12. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    What have you done thus far for tuning, besides installing the Skunk2 chip? Is that it?
     
  13. xXxcaoticxXx

    xXxcaoticxXx ©aotic-©reations

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Location:
    killeen texas
    my vtec ridgeline feels like a slug until i floor that fkr hence the difference in 3 diff lobs.theres low theres migh theres damn thats nice.that is vtec. i pull on 2000 si b16 swaps and most shit head ricers who have no fn idea wtf there doing.i have proven it to friends as well.if you dont do it right the 1st time when will you have the time to fix it?
     
  14. sciroccob16a2

    sciroccob16a2 New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    The p28 is from speedinnovations.com and it is supposed to be tuned to my engine setup. I have been messing with the cam and the ignition timing. So far only low end torque improved, midrange and top end seem to be the same. What else can I do myself for tuning?
     
  15. FLounder

    FLounder power hungry VIP

    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    137
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Location:
    north palm beach, FL
    what it sounds like to me is that you have a basemapped ecu for you car. Not a dyno tuned program burned onto your ecu. find a reputable honda tuner and go get it dyno tuned... .thats what im about to do with my car.
     
  16. sciroccob16a2

    sciroccob16a2 New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    Ok, here we go again with the dyno tuner. There seems to be a reputable one about 3hours away from me and their base price is $400. Will taking the car there really be worth the trip, time and the $$$?
     
  17. Justin66

    Justin66 The Hondaswap Canadian

    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Location:
    Peterborough, Ontario
    Since you have the cams and cam gears i think it would be a good idea, who knows how much more HP you get from it. If you stock id say no.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page