1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

vista and bad hard drive warning?

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by Briansol, Dec 2, 2007.

  1. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,449
    Likes Received:
    2,110
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    is this a common vista thing? it's popped up a couple times on me...

    my system seems fine...
     

    Attached Files:

    • hdd.jpg
      hdd.jpg
      File size:
      58.6 KB
      Views:
      205
  2. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    My gf has a toshiba laptop with Vista, and its had booting problems and required "restoring." Problem 3-4 times since May.

    Anyway, run a chkdsk and an hdd monitoring program to see. doesnt hurt to be thorough.
     
  3. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,449
    Likes Received:
    2,110
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    ran chkdisk

    4.5 hours later, no errors


    i still have all my docs on my laptop anyway, so if it crashes, it crashes... no big deal.
     
  4. ScrapinSi

    ScrapinSi Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,292
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    my friend meghan had that on her HP since day 1 with Vista... It CONSTANTLY begged her to do backups for various reasons... Even AFTER she did them it would STILL ask for them... yeah... i disabled that...
     
  5. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    yeah vista displays too many "warning." UAC FTL.

    my gf is techy illiterate except for going on the web, burning media, etc.. but she even thinks vista sucks.
     
  6. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,449
    Likes Received:
    2,110
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    my UAC is off, which is why this message got me a little 'worried'.

    it hasn't come back up since i did the chkdisk, so who knows...


    i'm really not too hapyp with vista.

    I'm installing VMware as we speak to get an xp instance up. i can't get the cisco vpn client to work with vista.
     
  7. nootrac22

    nootrac22 Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    4,331
    Likes Received:
    131
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Location:
    exeter pa
    :gunfight: VISTA
     
  8. ScrapinSi

    ScrapinSi Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,292
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
  9. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
  10. whiterabbit06

    whiterabbit06 Why oh why didn't I take the blue pill? VIP

    Messages:
    1,472
    Likes Received:
    312
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Location:
    Crestview, Fl
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page