1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

vista pre- beta 2 screens

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by pissedoffsol, May 10, 2006.

  1. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
  2. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    kinda looks like osX. ive been itching to get my torrent copy on a machine at work [​IMG]
     
  3. Drake

    Drake Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    8,633
    Likes Received:
    420
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Yeah that looks just fruity and thats the part that I didnt like about XP. I wish microsoft would focus on making a good solid OS. But that isnt the market they are appealing to. Its to all the people that want pretty graphics with shitty reliability. Oh well what can you do. Also dont you need a 3d graphics card to even use all the prettyness. Ill have to ask my program chair how he likes it. I think he is on the beta list.
     
  4. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,024
    Likes Received:
    3,951
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
  5. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    if you are rocking a PC on this day and age without some sort of 3d accellerator you are retarded.
     
  6. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    word on the "it looks like OSX"
     
  7. Celerity

    Celerity Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    21,969
    Likes Received:
    146
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    One word: LiteStep
     
  8. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    what says there is only going to be one style mode even xp has the xp style and the classic style.
     
  9. Drake

    Drake Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    8,633
    Likes Received:
    420
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    I should have worded that alittle diffrently. The part that bothers me is that because it has to have a 3d card thats just gonna eat up more system resources. It looks like MS is still bundeling every thing as one huge package instead of allowing you to CHOOSE what you want. The more intertependance there is an increased chance of one part breaking and sinking the whole ship.

    Ill shut up now everyone already nows this so im wasting my time and everyone elses.
     
  10. Citizen_Insane

    Citizen_Insane Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    trust me, its nice. It runs really smoothly when its not crashing :p. Since they've moved to vector based 3d desktop, there is pretty much no more lag when moving windows and stuff arround. Overall its quite smooth.

    You can also switch it back to 2d mode, and it won't need 3d acceleration. Personally, I find that it is much better w/ 3d, because its sooo smooth. You guys should try running it before saying its shit, because you have no clue what you're talking about. Now, will it suck when it makes it to the market? Most likely. I'm sure that they'll find a way to make it slow and shitty, but personally, I think Vista will be MUCH better than XP. If you want a no bullshit, functionality first OS, you should be running 2000pro anyway.
     
  11. Drake

    Drake Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    8,633
    Likes Received:
    420
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    What kind of machine are you running it on? Id like to to know the specs on your machine. My self, I dont have the cash to run really high end machines. I have never owned a computer with over 512mb of ram. Highest machine I have CPU wise is 1.2 ghz That is my major grip it proabably wont run to well on any of my computers.
     
  12. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    i'll be running it on

    p4 3.2ghz DC-HT
    1gb ram
    80gb hdd
    64mb integrated 3d graphics
     
  13. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Vista requires 256mb,but 512mb is recommended. 1GB is what you should shoot for. Any relatively new Intel or AMD processor should be good, say pass 3-4 years (i would like to say at least 2.0ghz). The graphics card is basically anything with directx9, shit even the integrated nvidia 6100 is "vista-ready." The entry isnt exactly that steep, but if you want the 'full experience' it is a little e.g. Aero glass which is optional and not avaliable for pirated versions :mrgreen:

    You can build a "vista-ready" machine for about 300-400ish. Heres an example from parts bought from fry's (outpost)

    CPU: AMD 3100+ Sempron - $80
    Motheboard: ECS Nforce3A - Free w/CPU (Even though its an ECS, its actually a really great board that I have overclocked at 240mhz w/o probs)
    RAM: Corsair Value 2X512MB - $60 AR
    Case w/350 Watt PSU: Antec SLK - $60 AR
    HDD: Seagate 80GB w/8M cache - $40 AR
    Drive: NEC 3550A - $40
    Video Card: eVGA 6200 - $20 AR

    AR = After Rebate.

    Thats a very good basic system to run almost anything except gaming. Of course its DDR and AGP, but if you building a budget system, I don't see you needing DDR2 or PCI-E. Very little advantages at the moment, unless you plan on upgrading within 2-3 years or plan on gaming soon, then a PCI-E system is definately a better buy because better and cheaper graphics cards are avaliable. Also, you can upgrade to dual-core if you want.


    Anyrate, Im using windowblinds with the VistaXP skin and it looks amazing. Alot better than regular ol' xp. If Vista is more solid, im definately switching over. I have resources to spare for the pretty graphics =).
     
  14. Bob Vila

    Bob Vila ɐןıʌ qoq Admin VIP

    Messages:
    4,669
    Likes Received:
    57
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    Location:
    Bristol, Ct.
  15. Citizen_Insane

    Citizen_Insane Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    I'm running a high end system, but it should run fine on most systems.

    My specs:
    -Dual Xeon 3.06's about to be @ 4Ghz on H2O
    -1gb DDR400
    -Radeon 9800 about to be 6800GS
    -600GB of HD space
    :ph34r: :p
     
  16. Sabz5150

    Sabz5150 FALCON PUNCH!!!

    Messages:
    3,335
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Vista interests me none. I'm done with Microsoft.

    How can you waste that hardware on Windows? [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  17. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    vector has nothing to do with moving. It's advantages are with re-sizing.

    when you zoom in on a jpg, it gets pixelated. its a raster image.
    when you zoom in on a flash movie, or take it out of the frame and link directly to the swf, it exapands to full screen. without clarity loss. flash is vector based.

    That article sucks.

    The correct term is raster, not bitmap. And vector doesn't draw lines and cruves. Vector creates plots of points, and plays connect the dots to form the image. The lines and cruves that result are a byproduct, not the source.
     
  18. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    why are vector images also called "line art"?
     
  19. Citizen_Insane

    Citizen_Insane Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    B - I know how vector graphics work. I just know that the windows don't lag in vista like they tend to do in XP.

    Sabz - when they release a copy of 3D Studio Max for linux, I'll move to linux. For now, windows is the only option. (That and the fact there are a lot more games).
     
  20. Bob Vila

    Bob Vila ɐןıʌ qoq Admin VIP

    Messages:
    4,669
    Likes Received:
    57
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    Location:
    Bristol, Ct.
    Raster and bitmap are synonomous.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Raster_graphics

    Vector graphics utilize points, lines and curves to represent images its also called geometric modeling.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page