1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Vitara pistons without boost

Discussion in 'Engine Building' started by Mour_Paolo, Oct 13, 2017.

  1. Mour_Paolo

    Mour_Paolo New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2017
    Hello guys i want to ask you something...if i used vitara pistonsa and rods kit in my d16z6 with d17 crankshaft and y8 intake and reprofiled camshaft and 4-2-1 header exhaust with programm in greedy ultimate without turbo how much power and torque take all this set?
    It is good to use vitaras pistons and rods kit without turbo?
     
  2. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,560
    Likes Received:
    253
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Your compression drops to something below 8:1 I believe. You'll spend a ton of money and lose a TON of power without taking advantage of the setup for boost. You'd probably lose 20-30% of your current power if you did that. Pointless.
     
  3. Mour_Paolo

    Mour_Paolo New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2017

    Because i dont understand you mean that i loose very much power if i used vitara pistons without turbo? And what aftermarket maybe or other type pistons with this set i used? For more power?
     
  4. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,914
    Likes Received:
    838
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    You need pistons that will keep the same compression or raise it slightly to make power NA.
     
  5. Mour_Paolo

    Mour_Paolo New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2017
    Ok i understand... thanks a lot...
     
  6. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,736
    Likes Received:
    2,259
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    The vitara set up is used to lower compression cheaply. If you don't want to go turbo, these are not the solution you want to use.
     
  7. Mour_Paolo

    Mour_Paolo New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2017
    Yes correct! But i ask again if you know with this set what pistons i can use!!
     
  8. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    3,884
    Likes Received:
    312
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    what are you actually asking ? like this is pretty common knowledge stuff here like if you can look up the parts list of dream build together then what info are you missing ? your car probably wont run n/a with viatra pistons if it does it will very poorly
     
  9. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,694
    Likes Received:
    338
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    I'm not sure that you're understanding the point of the Vitara pistons. They are not a power adding mod by themselves. They prepare the engine for the turbo setup by lowering the engine's compression. Are you asking for a set of pistons that you can put in first that will add power and then add your turbo later for more power? If so, you need to do more research about turbo setups. You can buy pistons that will RAISE the compression and add more power by themselves, but a raised compression isn't necessarily ideal for turbo.
     
  10. Matts96HB

    Matts96HB . Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    6,602
    Likes Received:
    467
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Mour_Paolo and BrutalB83 like this.
  11. dilbeckskate

    dilbeckskate infamous

    Messages:
    3,884
    Likes Received:
    312
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Kennesaw Ga
    why use the d17 crank... like pointless seriously even for the longer stroke you have to have shorter pistons to not smack the valves they are already super interference off the rip lol
     
  12. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,736
    Likes Received:
    2,259
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    if you change the crank, you need to change the rods too and consider any deck height differences.
     
  13. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,694
    Likes Received:
    338
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Ah yes, I did miss that part somehow. Thanks.
     
    Mour_Paolo and Matts96HB like this.
  14. Mour_Paolo

    Mour_Paolo New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2017
    Ok guys thanks for all!!!
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page