1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

vtec at 6500 RPM??

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by 97CTR, Aug 4, 2003.

  1. 97CTR

    97CTR Senior Member

    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    so whats wrong? I just did my 97 CTR into a 97ek and it runs awesome, no codes and it moves, but vtec is engaging at around 6500 rpm wich sucks. My tach seems to be pretty much accurate, my 70mph speed is right where it should be in terms of rpms, 3800. So is my vtec engaging late or is it my tach. I am using the ctr ecu. Is this the normal engagement rpm for the ctr. thanks
     
  2. Havok

    Havok Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,827
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Florida
    I'm not sure when VTEC is supposed to activate in a B16B, but that's pretty high...Is it your stock tach? Easiest way to find out is thru a VAFC or Hondata, that way you can activate it when you want to.
     
  3. VictorySaber1

    VictorySaber1 Junior Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    in a B16B(CTR) vtec engages at 6000, i don't know why ur vtec is engaging at 6500
     
  4. liquid00meth

    liquid00meth Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Location:
    Laconia, NH
    isn't the best point for vtec to engage where the torque curve meets the HP curve? (at 5252 or whatever it is)??
     
  5. JDMilan

    JDMilan Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    well you could try to swap out clusters just to see if another persons will give you a different reading. I say it's your tach. Unless somehow you got a reprogrammed ecu and your vtec crossover was set 1k too high, not sure.

    Milan
     
  6. smurf bnms

    smurf bnms Junior Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    What does your tach say when you hit the fuel cut? Is it at 9000, or does your tach not go that high? If it says like 10k, then your tach's off. I think the way to find out the best crossover point is to dyno the using only the small lobe up to around 6000. Then dyno the larger lobe (cross over at like 3000rpm) and wherever the 2 torque curves cross, set the vtec to engage there.
     
  7. liquid00meth

    liquid00meth Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Location:
    Laconia, NH
    ahh yea smurf, I think thats the intersection I was thinking of. Couldn't remember how it was determined.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page