1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

vtec changeover

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by romeirome1, Dec 30, 2002.

  1. romeirome1

    romeirome1 Junior Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Is it better to have vtec kick in @ a lower rpm or a higher rpm. or does depend on how the motor is built?
     
  2. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    227
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX

    This one.

    To decide when you want VTEC to kick in, dyno the car with VTEC set really high, then dyno it with the VTEC point set really low. Set the VTEC crossover where the two torque curves cross for the smoothest transition.
     
  3. cws13

    cws13 Senior Member

    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Location:
    Athens,GA
    What are you driving? Accord f22 v-tec kicks in at 2200 rpm for example and works in a completely different way than say a b16. usually factory is best because without forced induction the car is not moving enough air to use the big cam lobes well until higher rpm's. Of course frankensteins are a different breed since they use bottom ends that never had v-tec. Then it's definately a dyno job.
     
  4. prawjEKt Cx

    prawjEKt Cx Senior Member

    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Location:
    upstate NY
    yeah normally it's stock... and higher with after market n/a cams.... that's what i'd do. but if you have access to a dyno do exactly what Calesta said.
     
  5. sk8rmike

    sk8rmike Junior Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    also if your car is basically stock or has only bolt ons...then a vtec controller was a waste of money
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page