1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Vtec ecu running Non-Vtec engine?

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by Utrax42, Jan 23, 2009.

  1. Utrax42

    Utrax42 New Member

    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    I have a P28 ecu and am wondering if it will run my non-vtec D15B7 engine? I have the ecu for the D15B7 but its for an Automatic, and my car is now set up for Manuel.
    I'm rebuilding my D16Z6 and need a temporary (4 weeks tops) engine. I tried some searches and I'm pretty sure it should work but I thought I'd ask before I start a swap. Thanks!
     
    VrackLAtracK likes this.
  2. INJEN78

    INJEN78 HS LEGEND

    Messages:
    9,187
    Likes Received:
    121
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    OHIO
    it will run it,but it will run like garbage
     
  3. aux

    aux New Member

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    for real, someone please post a technically solid answer to this if possible. what is the difference between the 2 maps of the p28 and the p06? what happens when the engine reaches vtec engagement rpm, and the ecu squirts more fuel.. can the b7 head move it? or will it just go ultra-rich? someone who has done this please!!!
     
  4. je power

    je power New Member

    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Location:
    my house
    just chip the ecu and you will be fine
     
  5. aux

    aux New Member

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    chip it? what chip with what map, ETC ETC
     
  6. Utrax42

    Utrax42 New Member

    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Ive been running my spoon chipped P28 in my non-vtech D15B7 and I haven't had any problems. It runs a little rough right when I start it but other than that, I Can't tell a single difference. It's been like a week and a half now, no problems. But my Distributor did just die on me. not at random, but most likely (99.9%) due to me attempting to install a tach, lol.
     
  7. Rico_SoLowBoy

    Rico_SoLowBoy New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Location:
    Concord california
    D16y7 with y8 intake manifold, it's a non vtec engine, but I'm planning by next week to have a chipped vtec obd1 ecu. I'm hoping it works quicker Than a stock ecu
     
    VrackLAtracK likes this.
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page