1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

vtec engage how to know

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by take1bar, Dec 19, 2008.

  1. take1bar

    take1bar New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    is there a way to know that vtec has engage (when car running) and how to test that your vtec is working
     
  2. serrilion

    serrilion In my own little world! VIP

    Messages:
    1,758
    Likes Received:
    42
    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Location:
    Vermont
    well depending on the modle vtec will normaly kick in anywere from 5,000 RPM's to 5,500 RPM's... u willl deff noticed a diffrent sound from your engine as it tends to sound a bit higher pitched in my experance... basic throw it in idel and slowly let it rev up, u should hear the diffrence, if ya don't well then eather you model car does not have Vtec or you vtec is not working :p
     
  3. tabKola

    tabKola New Member

    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Location:
    Tewksbury MA
    If your VTEC isn't working your car should throw a cel code once you hit higher rpms while driving it.
     
  4. 96ekhatch

    96ekhatch New Member

    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    You could just pop the hood and rev the car with the throttle body and have your finger on the vtec selanoid and when you rev up past a certain rpm the selanoid should click, if you feel it click then vtec is engaging.
     
  5. haao13

    haao13 New Member

    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Location:
    PA
    uhh im pretty sure you have to be moving for vtec to engage. i think its like 13 mph or something
     
  6. 96ekhatch

    96ekhatch New Member

    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    i don't think so i've tried it before and felt the selanoid click and heard it click and i can tell when i rev it up while i was stopped that vtec engages.
     
  7. FLounder

    FLounder power hungry VIP

    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    137
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Location:
    north palm beach, FL
    it should not engage vtec when the car is not in gear

    and yeah, generally you will have a code (aka cel) if vtec is not working.
     
  8. 96ekhatch

    96ekhatch New Member

    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    I've seen vtec hooked up to a button and seen vtec engage at idle it is possible for it to engage while the car is not in gear but reved up to the rpm where it is supposed to engage at.
     
  9. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    Hacks.

    Not supposed to engage in neutral. Computer only engages it under load.
     
  10. branded noooob

    branded noooob New Member

    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Location:
    jackson missouri
    mine sure as heck hits vtec in park but ive had some that didnt so im curious about this...also
     
  11. 96ekhatch

    96ekhatch New Member

    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    I'm not a hack i'm saying i've seen it before they just did it to see what would happen lol. I really don't know y they decided to put it on a switch but they did and it worked.
     
  12. 96ekhatch

    96ekhatch New Member

    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    And mine deff did hit vtec in neutral it was a y7 block with a d15b head and a d15b ecu and it would hit vtec sitting still and my friend had a 1990 hatch with an obd0 ecu and it would hit vtec in park.
     
  13. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    geez, ok vtec will only engage if its warmed up enough,if you have enough oil pressure, if the solenoid is good and pressure switch and if the ecu is good, you can hook it to a switch but that's still not true vtec because all that does is lock the cam it does nothing to the fuel maps like real vtec does.and also real vtec will only work after your going 20mph if you have a single cam sometimes you wont even hear it change over but on a dohc vtec motor you should be able to hear it change over depending on if its stock or tuned
     
  14. YBLEGAL

    YBLEGAL Regular Member w/ Cheese

    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    B16A P30 OBD1 no vtec in neutral
    D15B ?StockECU OBD1 no vtec in neutral
    D16Y8 P2P OBD2b no vtec in neutral
     
  15. 96ekhatch

    96ekhatch New Member

    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    I had the d15b with the obd1 computer and it did have vtec in neutral and yea vtec won't engage at all if the car isn't warmed up or if it doesn't have oil in it. "thats where i convinced my friend that my car was out of vtec fluid" haha. But i meant vtec was on a button not a switch, so he could be driving and push the button and vtec would engage you could tell that vtec engaged too it got faster but only if you hit it at the right time if you hit it to early the car would like bog down. I checked to make sure vtec worked on my car by simply reving it up and holding the vtec selanoid. did it on this kid's crx too i could actually hear that one clicking while i was reving it up tho.
     
  16. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    lol you think it matters at this point lol
     
  17. 96ekhatch

    96ekhatch New Member

    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Actually no it really doesn't matter i get negative repped doing the same thing other people do so i don't see the point in trying anymore.
     
  18. take1bar

    take1bar New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    bump for more answer
     
  19. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    all the answers are here, the only other way to know is hock it to a lap top
     
  20. amadeuscr

    amadeuscr Member

    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    just temporary install a light bulb on the solenoid , 12v is sent from the ECU to open the solenoid , the bulb will light up when vtec engages , this will tell you if ECU is opening or trying to open the solenoid

    if you want to test the solenoid , just disconnect the connector in the solenoid and put 12v positive wire directly to the solenoid , it will clic if its fine , the car must be in ignition position with the car TURNED OFF.


    good luck
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page