1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

vtec engagement problem

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by b16acivic96, Aug 20, 2012.

  1. b16acivic96

    b16acivic96 New Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    hey guys im new to honda world and ive searched everywhere and im just not getting it. i have a 96 civic with a obd0 1st gen jdm b16a with a 94-95 gsr ecu obd1. i bought the car in december and i knew nothing about the vtec or hearing when it kicks in. well it never worked until about a month ago it started working out of know where... now it stop working again. i do have cel and i checked and its code 21. i tested the selenoid and it does work. clicks when i hook power up to it. read a guy put a toggle switch for it so i tried it and vtec works when i flick the switch at 5200 rpms. what could be my problem? i even ran a wire from seloniod right to the a4 pin on ecu to see if i had a bad wire and still didnt work. please any help would be great.
     
  2. b16acivic96

    b16acivic96 New Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    anybody?
     
  3. lostsoulzprophet

    lostsoulzprophet delslow

    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Location:
    georgia
    low oil pressure. clogged screen
     
  4. b16acivic96

    b16acivic96 New Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    i took it apart and cleaned it and theres oil pressure
     
  5. dc4dude

    dc4dude Member

    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Location:
    chicago, il
  6. b16acivic96

    b16acivic96 New Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    where does the ground wire run to? it goes in the harness but idk where it leads to
     
  7. b16acivic96

    b16acivic96 New Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    but wait there is only one wire coming from the selonoid. the selonoid is grounded by being bolted to motor
     
  8. b16acivic96

    b16acivic96 New Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    is there any obd2a computer that can work with a b16a so i can get rid of the jumper harness?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page