1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

vtec help

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by gabrielaeschliman, Sep 25, 2007.

  1. gabrielaeschliman

    gabrielaeschliman gabeybabey

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    I know everyone gets mad when someone asks about vtec but I still need help. If I am converting from non vtec to vtec what are all the wires I need to plug into the ecu manually. I know I need to plug in the vtec pressure switch and the vtec solinoid, is there any other wires. I swaped in a SOHC vtec ZC into my 92 civic lx. I was told to use old engine wiring harness and then manually plug in vtec wires to the ecu. Hopefully there is a way to get my vtec to work without going and buying a whole new harness.
     
  2. honda801

    honda801 New Member

    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    SLC
    Thats everything!
     
  3. gabrielaeschliman

    gabrielaeschliman gabeybabey

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Why the heck wont my vtech work then?
     
  4. honda801

    honda801 New Member

    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    SLC
    its pinned in the wrong space or you need a new vtec solenoid.
     
  5. gabrielaeschliman

    gabrielaeschliman gabeybabey

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    Hopefully it's not pinned in the wrong spot. I looked at an OBD1 wiring diagram to see where to put the wires. How do I check to see if the vtec solenoid is working. Can a Honda shop do that?
     
  6. N/A b18c1

    N/A b18c1 Mysterious

    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Location:
    Mid-Coast
    Did you ever even try testing it or never?
     
  7. gabrielaeschliman

    gabrielaeschliman gabeybabey

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    I am almost possitive it is not working because the engine light is on and there is never a boost of power. The engine is hardly any more powerful than the stock non vtec 1.5L engine that came with my car.
     
  8. killektiv

    killektiv New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    You can always check for codes. There is a plug above the ECU on the passenger side, it will be a 2 prong plug. You can use a piece a speaker wire if you want. Anything to complete the circuit. Then just watch and count the number of blinks / pauses the check engine light gives you. Then check this thread - Honda-Tech.com: Honda Civic/Del Sol (1992 - 2000): The new CEL thread (includes how-to and codes) for the code translation.

    That thread will have pics of the plug Im talking about too. That thread helped me out a lot when I did my swap.
     
  9. killektiv

    killektiv New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Now that I think about it - if your car is a 92 then it should have the VTEC wires already. Maybe its different for coupes?
     
  10. haao13

    haao13 New Member

    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Location:
    PA
    this might seem kinda dumb but did you change the ecu?
     
  11. gabrielaeschliman

    gabrielaeschliman gabeybabey

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
  12. Lee7pcNOOb

    Lee7pcNOOb New Member

    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    Arlington
    unplug the vtec pressure switch splice the blue wire into the solenoid wire and ground the black wire
     
  13. gabrielaeschliman

    gabrielaeschliman gabeybabey

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    So you want me to put the one solenoid wire into the blue wire from the vtec pressure switch. And ground the black wire from the vtec pressure switch.
     
  14. Lee7pcNOOb

    Lee7pcNOOb New Member

    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    Arlington
    no cut off the wires from the vtec pressure switch( be shure to leave enuf room for the wires to be reconnected just incase it wont work) splice the blue wire into the wire going to the solenoid and then ground the black wires somewhere on your chasis. I did this and my vtec kicks harder than a wife hitting the ground at a nascar convention
     
  15. gabrielaeschliman

    gabrielaeschliman gabeybabey

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    I understand everything you said except grounding the black wires. I only have one black wire and that's on the vtec pressure switch. And if I unplug the pressure switch there are no ground wires left to ground. I was also thinking about when I was plugging both the solenoid wire and the pressure switch wire into the ecu, there were already wires in the slots where I needed to put the vtec wires. So I just unplugged the wires and plugged in the vtec wires. Is that what I should do?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page