1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

VTEC in 3rd gen lude??????

Discussion in 'Prelude' started by prelude_rider, Nov 6, 2006.

  1. prelude_rider

    prelude_rider New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Location:
    ND
    i have a 91 prelude Si with a B20 in it and i was wondering if there is anyway u could put a VTEC in this car?
     
  2. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    swap motors
     
  3. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Swap your motor for an H22. The motor that you have is part of the b-series, but it's often referred to as the "bastard child" or the b-series motors. You can't swap a VTEC head onto it like you can on other non-VTEC blocks. Your only choice here is to swap.
     
  4. prelude_rider

    prelude_rider New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Location:
    ND
    alright ic i was just wondering if there was any way maybe like swapping ecu or something
     
  5. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    vtec is in the head not the ecu
     
  6. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    LOL! Just swapping out an ECU won't get you anywhere. The motor itself has to be equipped with VTEC, and then in order to get the VTEC to work, you will need add some wiring for it and also switch to a VTEC ECU.

    Pretty much the only way you're going to get VTEC on your 3rd-gen Lude is to swap the motor. I know you can do the H22, other motors like B16/18 might be possible, but I've never seen it done personally.
     
  7. eludethis

    eludethis Junior Member

    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
  8. Prelude4ws13

    Prelude4ws13 :::Trippy:::

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    ^^NO, no one reads/searches anymore!!!

    Someone tried to do a b16 head swap onto a b20AX block. It didnt work out well. The oiling issues were a problem. That person, ie. Tom Coleman(was it Davith?) bailed on the project.

    We are the bastard B series.
    ...In reality, we are the fathers of the B series. We came first. We came from f1 technology. Thank the b21a1 for all you vtec'ing monsters out there...we were the lab rats for the FRM, which is also found in the H series motors...

    Me and Eludethis are both in the mount group buy.
    We gonna be happy soon. ;)
     
  9. eludethis

    eludethis Junior Member

    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    haha what's up Brian. yeah i've been here since the GB started, telling all the 3rd genners to high-tail it to pp.com. but i guess no one reads. they just want to start their own threads for whatever reason. c'mon now ppl! when i was a noob at pp.com i didn't even post threads till i had a question that i couldn't find first. and even when i was a noob i wasn't. you know what i mean.
    well when i'm here i try to be patient and answer as many q's as i can. how's that for a change. a noob answering another noobs q's. hahaha!!

    i can't beleive Ryan (Chunty) forgot my name. he thought i was sobelazy.

    yeah we will be happy soon. as soon as the stragglers send in their loot. man i can't beleive the turn out. ppl need to keep to their words. i'm getting pissed just thinking about it.

    no it was Tom from ludespeed. i used to follow his work on the lude until he called it quits. i have all his info somewhere at my house. i think the best thing he ever made were the camber kits for our ludes. man i wish i had bought a set back then.
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2006
  10. Prelude4ws13

    Prelude4ws13 :::Trippy:::

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    The sad thing Davith, is that when new 3rd gen owners post their questions, we have Civic, Accord and especially Integra owners(they think they know everything) answer the question.

    Oh yeah, sure drop in a b18, oh yeah, bastard B series, oh yeah, blah blah when in all reality, they dont know SQUAT about NOTHING of our cars.

    People, listen to ELUDETHIS and myself, we are 3g veterans. y0.

    ...

    On a side note, i wish i got my my hands on a Ludespeed cold air intake. :mad:

    Ahhh...the good old days of Hondaprelude.com, Ludespeeds' turbo stuff and the tranquility of the 3g Prelude. ;) you know Tom, he went off to 240SX land...he was turbo crazy. We havent heard from him since. Oh, you also know Chris from Hondaprelude.com? before he went to the dark side, he sold me some of his 3g parts...yes, i have his parts on my LUDE!!! ^_^

    ...k back on topic, NO VTEC HEAD SWAP ON A B20AX motor! y9.
     
  11. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Who told him that he could swap in a B18? I said that other motors besides the H22 might be possible, but that I didn't know for sure. I said maybe on that one because I know for a fact that you can do B18s in 3rd-gen Accords.

    And sorry for the "bastard child" reference, but if these motors are so great then why are you buying mounts to swap in an H22? All I meant was that you can't swap VTEC heads onto these blocks like you can with the newer b-series motors, so don't get your "Prelude panties" all in a twist, lol...

    And yes, I'm an Integra guy now, but I did have a 88 Si Lude with the 4-wheel steering back in the day, so I'm not completely ignorant here...
     
  12. Prelude4ws13

    Prelude4ws13 :::Trippy:::

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    ^^No man, i wasn't referring to you man. I wasn't bashing you, i was just reffereing to the rest of the 50 "Vtec? b16? motorswap? in a 3g Prelude?" threads in the Prelude section.

    I was an Integra guy too, in fact it was my first car, a 94 Ls. I also was a Civic person too. I come from both of the mindsets, i am just speaking from my OWN experiences with those kats.

    ...be easy. ;)
     
  13. a1cnas

    a1cnas Hell Raiser

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Location:
    Joplin MO
    Holy shit guyz, can we not all get along. These R all carz n ppl have there own preference's, but bashing others for there idiocy and underthinking shit is wrong. Simply correct them with the right info. and thats that. Because other new ppl comming into the site will get a false sence when the ? is ask again of whether or not stuff can or will interchange. As for me, I still haven't found the truth of the b18a1 into a 3rd gen. Some say yes, while others say no. WTF. It either can or can't regardless of money. If you can bolt it up to the tranny with flywheel pressure plate n all. Wireing and mounts can be fabbed. but them fitting together and under the hood line seems to be the question everybody is looking for. If you have grips or complaints, get ahold of me at a1cnas@yahoo.com
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2006
  14. bluemarlin2311

    bluemarlin2311 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    header help

    do the headers from a h23 fit on a h22???
     
  15. stlpsycho138

    stlpsycho138 Junior

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Location:
    The LOU!
  16. fakk_13

    fakk_13 92GSRB17

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Location:
    Oak Town, WA
    i have an 88 perlude and bought a b20a5 converted to vtec and im puting it in my car and i was told that i have to rewire the dizzy? is that true? i already have a vtec harness conversion.
     
  17. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    what motor is in your car
     
  18. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Are you saying that you bought the motor already converted to VTEC or that you bought the motor and then converted it to VTEC??

    You're either full of it, or you got ripped, because you can't drop a VTEC head onto those motors.

    Is it a B20 from a CRV maybe??
     
  19. rudeludenotmeanthough

    rudeludenotmeanthough Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
  20. fakk_13

    fakk_13 92GSRB17

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Location:
    Oak Town, WA
    yes you can convert it. i have a b20a with a b16a head on it that i bought from a friend who moved. it runs i felt it in the car it was in before he totalled it. there are some pics to prove it at http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2487965/2 but do i have to rewire the dizzy?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page