1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Vtec Issue On B16 Swap

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by hondadriver, May 16, 2003.

  1. hondadriver

    hondadriver Member

    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Ok me and my friend just swapped a b16a into a crx si, we built the engine over the winter, we put it back together and itsatrted right up with a litle vacuum problems, but they are already taken care of. know we wired the vtec solenoid to pin A8, vtec oil pressure to B5, and knock to B19, the knock sensore works, and in the manual it says that the blue wire on the oil pressure switch should have 12v on it and it does, but i'm getting a error code for the oil pressure on my ecu, and i'm getting the vtec trouble code. WHen the key was in the on position i measured around 10v on the vtec wire comming from the ecu, but i thought the only time voltage goes through the wire is when the vtec kicks in. This is making no sense, Did anyone have this problem before???And what can it be? The wire is fine, its hooked up to the right pin, and the vtec solenoid is good. I mean what the fuck can it be????
     
  2. RSBAD433

    RSBAD433 Junior Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2003
    you sure the oil switch is good?
     
  3. obd1 kenobi

    obd1 kenobi Junior Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Location:
    Vancouver BC Canada
    Did you run the second wire from the oil pressure switch to ground? The thermostat bolt is a fine place to go.
     
  4. hondadriver

    hondadriver Member

    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    what do you mean a second wire? There is a blue/black,which as the 12v on it and then the black wire which is ground through the harness, do you think i should take that black wire an ground it to the chasis?

    What about that 10v i'm reading off the vtec wire coming from the ecu, shouldn't i read 0v. Because thats how i'm activating my vtec on my mini me swap, with a rpm switch which throws a 12v signal to the solenoid. So that means the ecu shouldn't be trowing any voltage when the key is on.
     
  5. kingwilly

    kingwilly Senior Member

    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Location:
    arizona
    dont worry just make sure everything is grounded
     
  6. 92 B16 Hatch

    92 B16 Hatch Junior Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    I had the same problem with my swap. The VTEC press switch would throw a code and turn the solenoid off if you ripped it hard enough. I replaced it with a switch from a D16Z6 I found in the junk yard and everything's great now.
     
  7. hondadriver

    hondadriver Member

    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    well, i removed the vetc solenoid and cleaned the filter, and pulled the positive battry clamp off and it reset the ecu and all the trouble codes are gone thanks for the help though!!!
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page