1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

VTEC killer cams,

Discussion in 'Engine Building' started by Sergey P.A., Feb 14, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sergey P.A.

    Sergey P.A. Senior Member

    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Location:
    253 Tacoma
    ok I went to a performance shop today, and they had some new and weird shit, I don't know if it's new but its funking owesome,
    1st one, I saw some TODA cams and I asked the guys what kind of cams are thise and he said its a VTEC killer cams, I was like yeah right cuz the cams had only the side lobes,no middle one, but the lobes were oversized, he said that this are cams for drag racing strait, not for street use, and he also said that the vtec is on all the time with this shit, so if you kknow what it is can somebody expayin it to me,

    2nd thing is I say a IM which basically had a throtle body for each cilinder, that's not new to me, if somebody know's what I am talking about here explain pleaze
    <_<
     
  2. H22AdelSol

    H22AdelSol Senior Member

    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Location:
    san diego, california
    You mean individual throttle bodies?
     
  3. Sergey P.A.

    Sergey P.A. Senior Member

    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Location:
    253 Tacoma
    yeah, and how this thing works, it doesnt have a intake, or this thing is for DragSters only,
     
  4. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,036
    Likes Received:
    3,970
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    yes you can run an air box with ITBs
    generally you need to run a full standalone for ITBs (as far as i know hondata can not deal with them)

    VTEC killer cams are pretty much exactly what he said
    it would be equivalent to running an LS head with VERY agressive cams
    no VTEC engagement... basicly high lobes 100% of the time
     
  5. 97CTR

    97CTR Senior Member

    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    VTEC "killer" cams= no vtec, it got killed
     
  6. civicious

    civicious FüK-VTEC VIP

    Messages:
    9,855
    Likes Received:
    629
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    on ITB's, how would you wire that up? like where would you put map/tps/iat sensors and your vacuum lines and such?
     
  7. Sergey P.A.

    Sergey P.A. Senior Member

    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Location:
    253 Tacoma
    man the ITB's are crazy, kinda expensive though,
     
  8. Sergey P.A.

    Sergey P.A. Senior Member

    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Location:
    253 Tacoma
    ...and you don't kill the VTEC, you have it, but it's allways on, that's not like for street use when you use it only when you need it, that's for Dragsters Only,
     
  9. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home

    depends on the model.

    most, you have to vacuum port in. standalone time.
     
  10. 97CTR

    97CTR Senior Member

    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003

    wrong, you don't have vtec anymore, you have only one cam lobe, with no lobe change over that means no vtec lobe. if you want to call it constant vtec go ahead.
     
  11. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,036
    Likes Received:
    3,970
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
  12. CRX_B16B

    CRX_B16B Senior Member

    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003

    you'll have two cam lobes with the TODA vtec killer (im pretty sure) and only one with the crane cams vtec killer which requires special rockers so you never have the vtec function with these. just really big cams.
     
  13. JDMilan

    JDMilan Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    exactly what E said, and go visit his link :)



    have a nice day
     
  14. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home

    no, you won't.
     
  15. kennyrocks

    kennyrocks New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    duh...

    <quote>1. The Primary and secondary lobes are designed to be the same size.</quote>

    off toda's web site
    so yeah 2 lobes
     
  16. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    wow noob.. 2 1/2 yrs old..
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page