1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

vtec oil pressure on b18c5

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by cee-j, Nov 11, 2004.

  1. cee-j

    cee-j Junior Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    hey hey!!!

    I have 1991 sir and i just bought a b18c5 but where the vtec oil pressure switch is suppose to be there is none. Can i take the one off my b16a ????
     
  2. cee-j

    cee-j Junior Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    thanx everybody :p
     
  3. NoJokE

    NoJokE Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
  4. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    there isn't one on jdm itr's. they don't use a vtec pressure switch.
    usdms do use them though. and any b-series switch will work.
     
  5. cee-j

    cee-j Junior Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Location:
    Ontario Canada

    Thats great thanks alot guys

    Anymore helpful tip about my swap???
     
  6. nfn15037

    nfn15037 Senior Member

    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Just splice the VTM wire into the VTS wire and the ECU won't throw a CEL even without a pressure switch.
     
  7. cee-j

    cee-j Junior Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Location:
    Ontario Canada

    Sorry i don't understand your short form.
    Splice the pressure switch wire into ...what?
     
  8. nfn15037

    nfn15037 Senior Member

    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    VTEC pressure switch into the VTEC solenoid wire. The ECU checks the VTEC oil pressure after VTEC engages, this mod tricks the ECU into thinking there is pressure on the VTEC oil pressure switch. FWIW, this works on OBDI ECUs, I don't know about OBDIIs, but I would imagine they would be similar.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page