1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

vtec problem on a B16A2 in a EG6

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by smoke, Nov 7, 2006.

  1. smoke

    smoke New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    i recently did a swap because i blew my last motor, took out my jdm b16A for a B16A2 (USDM). the swap went well but when im supposed to pop vtec at around 6'rpm... it doesnt pop and the check engine light goes on. the vtec solenoid is connected right, the green yellow wire to green white wire... but its throwin the code 21 when i try to hit vtec. would it matter that i used the same vtec solenoid that was on my jdm engine? and one other thing also my idle is alil fucked it revs from 1k to 1,5k when in neutral at a stop. do i need a vtec oil pressure switch wire? i been searching on these forums and i heard about this but i dont think i ever had one. thanx for ur help....
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2006
  2. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    well if your getting code 21 either the slenoid is bad or power to it or ecu,,if you have a oil pressure switch yes it needs to be wired up
     
  3. smoke

    smoke New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    first so what ur saying if i never had a vtec oil pressure switch i dont need one? and second vtec is workin i popped vtec once for like a second then it shot a code and no more vtec... and i took my workin vtec solenoid from my jdm engine to my new usdm one....
     
  4. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    after you swaped selnoids did you pop it then and what ecu are you running, and it dont need a pressure switch if it didnt come with one
     
  5. smoke

    smoke New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    running a p28 chipped ecu, well it did pop for like a second one time and then again it threw a cel. but i dunno man i have no idea why it isnt popping vtec but then again after it throws a cel and i turn off the car and restart it it goes away until i try to pop vtec at 6 grand. is someting not grounded or what i really dont think the solenoid is fucked up.. im leading more towards the wiring...
     
  6. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    yea thats what i think also wireing check all your grounds, and make sure the selnoid is good and clean like the screens, if all your wires are wright check to make sure you have enough oil in the motor well check that first, and also swap out ecu to see if thats it and after all that check to make sure your getting good oil pressure
     
  7. smoke

    smoke New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    k im not really big on the wiring in this car, but try to point ime in the direction of what grounds i should be looking for that woulld effect my vtec from not popping and where they are. thanks for ur help, i appreciate it..
     
  8. smoke

    smoke New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    anyone else have any other ideas why vtec isnt popping?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page