1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

vtec problem

Discussion in 'Accord' started by deucef22, Jan 17, 2011.

  1. deucef22

    deucef22 New Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    I have an f22b1 and my vtec isn't engaging and I've lost about 30hp I'm not sure what it is. Could it be my vtec controller
     
  2. hondafreak513

    hondafreak513 New Member

    Messages:
    2,053
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Location:
    O hi O
    check to see if you have any oil in the motor..If there is not enough oil the vtec will not work..
     
  3. deucef22

    deucef22 New Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    The oil level is good and the solenoid seems to be ok
     
  4. hondafreak513

    hondafreak513 New Member

    Messages:
    2,053
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Location:
    O hi O
    I just saw you have a vtec controller check the wiring or the programing..
     
  5. deucef22

    deucef22 New Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    I'm going to try taking the vtec controller out and check it maybe it will engage but I still can't figure out why I lost HP any ideas on that??
     
  6. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Is this motor built at all? If not, then there's no need for a VTEC controller, especially on a single-cam Accord motor. Honda set the VTEC engagement points from the factory for a reason. Unless you've got some type of build going on that necessitates or really benefits from changing the VTEC engagement points, then you'd be better off just running an appropriate ECU...
     
  7. deucef22

    deucef22 New Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Its been bored ported and polished the bore is .020 over
     
  8. hondafreak513

    hondafreak513 New Member

    Messages:
    2,053
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Location:
    O hi O
    Isn't the f22b1 the dohc vtec?
     
  9. 90_EF_Hatch

    90_EF_Hatch Señor Member

    Messages:
    1,498
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas Texas
    edited
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2011
  10. deucef22

    deucef22 New Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    That's not completely correct the f22b in Europe I believe it is, is also dohc, not to be confused with f22b1 or f22b2 however there is an f22c1 that is dohc
     
  11. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Not true. The S2K has two motors, the F20C, and later the F22C. The S2K engines are a lot different then the Accord F-series though.

    However, there's also the F20B, which is a dual-cam, VTEC-equipped F-series engine that was used in certain European Accords. It's very similar to an H22, minus 0.2 liters of course.

    Sorry if our engine list is not up to date. I have intentions on fixing that one of these days...
     
  12. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    I'm still not sure why you're using a VTEC controller then. VTEC controllers are old-school at this point. You should be using a chipped and tuned ECU...
     
  13. hondafreak513

    hondafreak513 New Member

    Messages:
    2,053
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Location:
    O hi O
    Thank you Brutal and deuce, I knew there was a dohc f20b... I messed up and put f22b..oops
     
  14. 90_EF_Hatch

    90_EF_Hatch Señor Member

    Messages:
    1,498
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas Texas
    thanks for correcting me! not good to spread around misinformation!
     
  15. deucef22

    deucef22 New Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    No problem I would want someone to tell me if I mistaken about something, and as far as the vtec controller it's gone I took that pos out but my vtec still isn't right and I don't know why I lost horsepower
     
  16. hondafreak513

    hondafreak513 New Member

    Messages:
    2,053
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Location:
    O hi O
    has the ecu been chipped, is the check engine light on???
     
  17. deucef22

    deucef22 New Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    I have no check engine light and it's not chipped
     
  18. hondafreak513

    hondafreak513 New Member

    Messages:
    2,053
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Location:
    O hi O
    Then go to square one, Clean the vtec out, check and make sure its getting voltage, wire the solenoid to the battery to make sure it is clicking, then last check the wiring..
     
  19. deucef22

    deucef22 New Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Will do I'll let you know what I find thanks to everyone trying to help out
     
  20. deucef22

    deucef22 New Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Well all is good vtec is engaging at 3000rpm I had to get a new one but I got it for 25 used and once again thanks for the help
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page