VTEC Smoke

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

Johnnylawless

Getting Minor smoke when VTEC kicks in on my B18C5. Is a little anything to worry about? I use 10/30 mobil 1 in it.

from what i understand,hondas are designed to run rich under heavy load (vtec),i dont want to mislead you but i wouldnt worry about it ---Ihave a 01' prlude as well and it smokes just a little bit under vtec and it only has 60,000 miles on it

It's A Blueish smoke not Black. So that's what worries me a bit, also my oil usage is a bit more than i would think should be acceptable.

Of course I am a "VTEC Junkie"

im not a big mechanic or nothing but it sounds like rings or something ---have you done a compression test ?---i had an oil usage problem in my civic and i just spun a rod bearing last week---motor is trashed thats why i am going to a b series now ---all i can tell you is to watch your oil level :eek:

40K, I did the swap and I will rebuild if need be, but just wanted to see if this was normal for VTEC to use alot of oil.

Originally posted by Johnnylawless@Dec 5 2003, 07:52 PM
Getting Minor smoke when VTEC kicks in on my B18C5. Is a little anything to worry about? I use 10/30 mobil 1 in it.

Dont worry about it - my car does it whenever im in VTEC as well.

Just look at your exhaust tip and if its covered in that black crap - then you will know if its runnin rich.

a compression test isnt really gonna tell you if you have a ring problem. if you are burnin oil that says oil is staying above your rings which will cause the piston to hold more compression. do a leakdown test, that will tell you more accurately if you have a ring problem.