1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

vtec?

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by B16civic07, Nov 12, 2009.

  1. B16civic07

    B16civic07 New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Hi have been having a problem with my vtec. i have a b16a swap in my 95 civic ex. It was working about 2 weeks ago then all of a sudden it stopped last week so for the past week i have been trying to figure out why its not working. It woud engage and then not engae, then not engage at all. I took apart the selenoid and it was clean and i swa oil coming out of it. Can any body help me out?
     
  2. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Honestly, could be anything. Check wires going to solenoid, swap ECU with a known good one... follow troubleshooting flowchart in service manual.
     
  3. 94civicturbo

    94civicturbo New Member

    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Liberty, IN
    its your vtec juice man, sounds like you ran out. lol i really dont know what it would be sounds like a wiring problem
     
  4. B16civic07

    B16civic07 New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    i have a ps8 ecu chipped for the b16a its from phearable.net well i got told to strip the ground wire whihc i did but then i put the senor back on, could knock sensore be a prob? cuz it engages and doesnt engage it bothers the crap out of me.
     
  5. 99sidude

    99sidude Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    3,707
    Likes Received:
    170
    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    does your car have enough oil? vtec will not switch over without sufficient oil pressure
     
  6. B16civic07

    B16civic07 New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    yes its full what does the knock sensor cuz in sept i was throwing codes for speed sensor and knock sensor. would they effect vtec?
     
  7. vpower

    vpower New Member

    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    L.A.
    Yes ur speed sensor could effect vtec and could effect your speedometer from working...its the plug right above the tranny next to your vtec solenoid...make sure its plugged in...and make sure u have enuff oil!!!good luck and don't forget to rep
     
  8. Slow&Delirious

    Slow&Delirious isn't fast or furious

    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    Boonville NC
    i have heard that a dented oil pan can cause VTEC engaugement problems
    but since you said it works sometimes makes me think its electrical or the solenoid
     
  9. king101

    king101 New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    iv just bout a b16a vtech engine but it has no crank sensore on it but my old b16a vtech does is it possable to take the crank sensor of my old engine and put it on the new one and how would i go about dooing so if you could help that would b great thank you
     
  10. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Jesus...stop jacking other people's threads dude...
     
  11. willb2305

    willb2305 New Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    your knock sensor can affect ur vtec
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page