1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wait... vtec or not? '96 Honda Civic EX

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by xCadet, May 27, 2011.

1. xCadet

xCadet New Member

The engine says it's a D16Y8, which, from what I've read have all been vtecs-- however, I never actually feel a 'kick,' though, y'know, it is an older car and there are many excuses to as why it wouldn't kick in such as a faulty sensor or somethin'. I was under the assumption that it wasn't a vtec, so I just.. bought a vtec head for it-- and I'm gonna forehead palm myself if my Honda is actually a vtec. I don't know what I should look for exactly to find out if it's a vtec or not. I know that Honda is very proud of their vtec's, and most vtec engines have "VTEC" proudly displayed on it, but yeaah, mine just says "HONDA."

Now, please don't hate me. I'm a 17 year old woman and I'm only beginning to learn about Honda's. I'm actually really enjoying working on my baby and learning about her. Yes, my civic is a she.
  2. TurboMirage

TurboMirage Finally boostin'

you wont feel a kick.

it has vtec.
  3. E_SolSi

E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator

VTEC doesnt "kick" on a SOHC... there is a barely noticeable audible change and thats about it
    many of the SOHC VTEC engines did not have VTEC printed on the valve cover

just look for the VTEC solenoid
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]
  4. xCadet

xCadet New Member

UGH.