1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

water temp sender

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by eg6sir, May 1, 2006.

  1. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    alright.. i'm installing a aftermarket water temp gauge and i'm wondering where the sender goes.. if anyone has a pic that shows me then that would be great..
     
  2. jlicrx

    jlicrx Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    65
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    what engine?
     
  3. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    oh.. sorry.. its a obd1 b16a
     
  4. jlicrx

    jlicrx Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    65
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    should be on the end of the head below the distributor - has 1-wire connector
     
  5. vtecsir1

    vtecsir1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,313
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    dont listen to him he obviously didnt read the word AFTERMARKET IN YOUR POST. you can put it in the radiator hose with an adaptor like the one hasport sells for 30 bucks or you can tap it in where the radiator hose meets the head like gsrcrx did here.
    [​IMG]
     
  6. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    hmmm.. so its not just a plug in type of thing..
     
  7. vtecsir1

    vtecsir1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,313
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    no because you cant replace your stock one with this one unless you want to throw a code.
     
  8. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    there has got to be way around it.. .. it will just give me a CEL right?? i just had my car smogged so that doesnt matter, i can always switch it back if needed
     
  9. jlicrx

    jlicrx Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    65
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    it won't give you a CEL - there is no CEL code for the water temperature gauge - the engine coolant temp code 6 is code for the sensor for the ECU - it is the other sensor on the end of the head with 2-wire connector - what kind of gauge is it?
     
  10. vtecsir1

    vtecsir1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,313
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    right there is no cel for a water temp gauge but if you disconnect that plug from the factory harness there will be.

    just do it the right way not the half ass way, I gave you 2 examples of easy ways to do it.
     
  11. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    its an Autometer Pro comp ultra light..
     
  12. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    Dude, plug it into the Single wire connector and put the connector back on it.
    Mine works fine like that.. don't need to tap shit or go cutting shit.
     
  13. jlicrx

    jlicrx Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    65
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    came with sending unit, correct? you need Autometer Part No. 2268 metric adapter which screws into the head in place of the OEM sensor and the Autometer sending unit screws into it - the sending unit won't screw directly into head because of different thread size - i have installed many of these and you won't get CEL
     
  14. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    [​IMG]
    Or you can do it the easy way.
    Strip 1.5inches of the wire, stick it into the little black single connector, plug it back in... yay.
     
  15. jlicrx

    jlicrx Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    65
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    Autometer gauges will not work with the OEM sending unit - this is quote from Autometer:

    "Electrical temperature and pressure gauges require the use of a sender matched for the type of gauge in use; the stock sender will only work with the stock gauges. Auto Meter gauges are designed to work with the Auto Meter sender that is included with the gauge."
     
  16. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    My Faze gauge said the same thing [​IMG] so i tried it anyways... works fine?
    I'm not saying you're wrong, but it's worth a shot to try it the easier way first. (like i did)
    I might even still have the sender unit for it in my trunk...
     
  17. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    hmm.. i think i'll try the easy way first..
     
  18. vtecsir1

    vtecsir1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,313
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    if you disconnect your stock gauge do you know what normal engine temperture is for your motor?
     
  19. VTECin5th

    VTECin5th Administrator

    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    Mine was broken, so i asked here.
    I was told 180 is normal, my car runs between 160 and 190 in arizona.
     
  20. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    my stock gauge is broken.. the needle broke off. ..

    and no i dont know what the normal operating temp is...

    so.. if anyone know the normal temp for a b16 then please share
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page