Website Virgin - Need Help/Suggestions

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

totalburnout

VIP
Looking for some insight here.

Plan to start a brick and mortar business. To compliment the business we need a website, logo, domain name, web host, the whole nine.

It appears that most in our industry use Wordpress for their sites.

The web layout will basically be a landing page, contact us page, about us, daily blog post, and we would like the ability to imbed video from instagram/snapchat/youtube on all of these pages. Ability to view on a mobile device is key. If we can update/upload from a mobile device to manage the page, that is also key.

Opinions on wordpress?

Opinions on Go Daddy to purchase the domains?

Options/opinions for a web host?

I'm asking two of my friends that are graphic designers by trade to help me with the logo. We're sort of on our own with the web design. I don't want it to look like a Mickey Mouse operation but also don't need a ton of bells and whistles. Clean, competent, and intuitive would be ideal.

I know there's a lot here but I'm hoping that I've missed a ton, I will be called a fool, and you guys will point me in the direction of what I'm missing.

my boss built a crossfit website too for a guy who is making oodles of cash in fitness. i'll try to get you the site tomorrow.

This is Ian's GF posting...

I was going to go with hostgator.com for domain name registration and hosting... is there any reason we should be buying it from namecheap instead? I like the idea that everything will be done through one site, even though there is a $2 difference in the yearly registration...

I couldn't find anything for asmallorgane- server may have been down when I tried. And I couldn't quite figure out servint.net. Again, any reason we should go with those over hostgator?

Thanks!