1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Weird speaker problem

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by ZCpowerdSI, Jan 6, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ZCpowerdSI

    ZCpowerdSI New Member

    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Hey guys. So my problem is bad static in the speakers of my ef. It barely has static when the volume is really low but when I turn up the volume it gets bad. I've changed the stereo so it's not that. And i know the speakers aren't blown. I know the exact moment it started. It started when one day at the lights I wanted to push my car a bit, and when I brought it to about 6000rpms all of a sudden it was fuzzy. I couldn't tell if it made a sound when it happend because the engine was too loud.

    Anyone know what this could be? Thanks in advance
     
  2. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Ground loop? Bad wiring?
     
  3. ZCpowerdSI

    ZCpowerdSI New Member

    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Yeah I don't know shit when it comes to the audio. And I didn't do any of the wiring besides the harness I just wired.

    Ground loop? Meaning...
     
  4. lostsoulzprophet

    lostsoulzprophet delslow

    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Location:
    georgia
    take the speakers out and check each one. if a wire is touching something metal it can cause static or cause no noise period coming from radio. or check the wiring you did. could just be a loose connection or plug.
     
  5. ZCpowerdSI

    ZCpowerdSI New Member

    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    It was doing it before I did the wiring. I thought maybe it could be the deck and since it was an old one I went and picked up a new one. And still the same thing. I'm gonna pull the speakers out tomorow.
     
  6. Fernpatch

    Fernpatch Member

    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    19
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Bellingham,WA
    Static as in a crackle/pop kinda sound or as in a whine/whiring kind of sound?
     
  7. ZCpowerdSI

    ZCpowerdSI New Member

    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Crackle pop kinda sound
     
  8. lostsoulzprophet

    lostsoulzprophet delslow

    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Location:
    georgia
    did you pull the speakers.
     
  9. phyregod

    phyregod !!YTINASNI

    Messages:
    9,449
    Likes Received:
    225
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Location:
    Central Texas
    You sure they aren't just blown?
     
  10. ZCpowerdSI

    ZCpowerdSI New Member

    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Yeah I was just about to write that. None are touching
     
  11. ZCpowerdSI

    ZCpowerdSI New Member

    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    They aren't blown. They were both good before it happend and the volume was low
     
  12. ZCpowerdSI

    ZCpowerdSI New Member

    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    So could a bad ground do this?
     
  13. lostsoulzprophet

    lostsoulzprophet delslow

    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Location:
    georgia
    bad ground can do that if something is not grounded properly. first is it all speaker or just one adjust the radio going from right to left and front to back to see if its all speakers
     
  14. lostsoulzprophet

    lostsoulzprophet delslow

    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Location:
    georgia
    also do you have a amp wired through them or just from radio factory wires
     
  15. ZCpowerdSI

    ZCpowerdSI New Member

    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Just from factory wires. No amp. I'll go Check if it's all of them. I know both in the front are doing it.
     
  16. lostsoulzprophet

    lostsoulzprophet delslow

    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Location:
    georgia
    ok check that real quick and get back at me
     
  17. ZCpowerdSI

    ZCpowerdSI New Member

    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    It's all 4 of them
     
  18. lostsoulzprophet

    lostsoulzprophet delslow

    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Location:
    georgia
    ok. hmm. that could eaither be a ground is not connected properly. << good metal? not aluminum, or painted>> radio deck could still be bad. you say it did not do it untill you hit 6k rpm right
     
  19. ZCpowerdSI

    ZCpowerdSI New Member

    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Yeah not till 6k. I don't really know where the ground(s) are for the radio. Are they easy to see?
     
  20. ZCpowerdSI

    ZCpowerdSI New Member

    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    I'm guessing it's a good place to be grounded because I didn't touch it. Prolly same place the factory grounded it.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page