Westone Custom Motorcycle earplug review.

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

jeffie7

Wrong Whole!
VIP
I've been riding motorcycles on the street for a little over 10 years and have been using ear plugs for about the last 8 of those years.

I was searching for the best ear plugs for reducing wind noise while riding and figured I would give the Westone 4RT plugs a try. These are custom plugs that require getting molds done for your ears, the molds are sent out and then custom plugs are made and sent back.

I couldn't find any reviews or information on the plugs online outside of the information listed on Westones site.
That's it.....

So I figured, what the heck, I'll give it a go, worst case, it's $120.00 down the drain.

The plugs are very soft and very comfortable, however I noticed as soon as I put them in, they reduced sound levels very little. Most foam ear plugs I buy OTC reduce sounds by 33db These seemed like maybe half of that...

I called up Westone and the technician explained that they are not for reducing sounds, however, they are designed to reduce wind noise while allowing you to still hear everything else. Ok fair enough.

Next step. Trial ride.

I put them in and without a doubt it does reduce wind noise, however, not by that much. It sounds to be about half as good as riding with foam plugs.

So in the end. I have zero doubt that I will never ride with these plugs as they do not offer enough wind noise protection. I'll keep them around for when I go to noisy places where I need to take the edge off, as in a bar or busy restaurant type place.

Next step is to try the Westone 40 series plugs, its a full solid plug, the tech said it is rated at 39DB reducing but fills your whole ear. If it keeps the wind noise out, I'm game. Yet another $120.00 risk.

1684d1309198893-motorcyclists-style-4rt-ear-plug-review-259894_156228321116217_100001871518109_352748_3368261_n.jpg