What are you BBQing on?

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

Capt. Orygun

Win the Day
In the spirit of Memorial Day weekend, I thought we should talk BBQing! Yes I know what the holiday is really about, I'm a veteran myself so calm down. Anyways, share your grill and finished product pics here. I have a rack of ribs coming off the smoker in a few hours and will post pics. First, my grill...

I use the "Junior" as I currently live in an apartment
BBQ055-1.jpg

Grills - Traeger Online Store

I swear by Traeger. Wood Pellet fuel=better flavor than charcoal. Fed by auger=the control of propane. It's technically a wood oven, but don't let that fool you, this baby can smoke and BBQ with the best of em.

Rib pics to come, show me your setup.

I wont waste band width with a pic of my cheap ass grill lol. Its just a run of the mill charcoal grill. Adjustable charcoal grate, one cooking rack and another in the lid.

Fuel of choice is hard wood lump. Sometimes I soak wood chips and throw em in on the coals, to get a faux smoker effect goin. Ive used hickory and mesquite quite a bit, just tried some cherry and it has a nice flavor.

Go to meal is steak with asparagus and sauteed onions. One of my favorites has been salmon cooked on a cedar plank tho.

I dont have any pics of my finished goods because it barely makes it to the table lol.

Lmao, I take it they turned out good then.

Today I'll be grillin New York Strip Steaks that have been in the marinade overnight on the trusty Lodge cast iron grill fired with Kingsford charcoal briquettes.

Lodge%20Grill.JPG

BBQ projects are handled with the New Braunfels Black Diamond BBQ. This bad boy usually burns hardwoods - oak, walnut, pecan. Somethimes mesquite or charcoal.

Black%20Diamond%20Smoker.JPG

Last edited:
I want a traeger. Badly.

I have a Weber one touch 22.5" and a Weber silver gas grill.