What broke? Clutch, tranny, linkage...

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

benjo

I was making a u-turn yesterday when something went terribly wrong on my 94 civic D15 with 100,000mi. When I made the turn I slapped hard into gear and gave it full power(not much with a D15) and it gripped for a few seconds. Then nothing. None of the gears work now and I thought I heard some grinding but it may have been the loose exhaust heat shield. Before I have it towed to a shop, I'd like to know what the problem is. Any easy way of finding out if it's the clutch, tranny, or just a broken linkage cable? I couldnt see anything yesterday night. All this on top of the $300 dollar speeding/expired plates ticket I got in the morning. Well, no more speeding. The car is about three miles from me and I'm new to the city so no truck or garage to tow/work on it myself.

Also, any trusted mechanics in Portland?

~Ben
Portland, OR

My guess is axle. Have somebody get into the car and try to move it slowly. You will need to pop the hood and reach down and grab the axle. If the axle spins and your car goes nowhere then that is the problem. That's the first thing I would check anyways. I have broke 2 axle and both time it was because I had the wheel at full lock while doing a burnout.

The same thing happened to me the other day, i was in reverse and my foot slipped off the clutch and it kinda like poped then there was nothing, i dont know but my macanic said that it is my tranny that went, ? dont know,
i need help too
thanks

Beer bongs do kick ass. Thanks everyone for the info but I checked out the car today and when I put it in gear with the ebrake, one axle spins. It broke at the CV joint. Yeay! I hear they're no fun but I'll give this one a shot. Anyone know what size sockets you need?

Axles are easy to change.

1. Jack the car up and take the wheel off.