1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What clusters work in EK?

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by daniero, Apr 2, 2008.

  1. daniero

    daniero I'm an asshole.

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Location:
    Regina, SK
    What clusters could I put in my soon-to-be-aquired '99 DX with soon-to-be-swapped GSR? ...with a tachometer of course.
     
  2. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    the easy and best looking would be a 99-00 civic si cluster it will plug right up just like stock..but if you want to spend some real money i can show you a uber sweet cluster for about 600 bucks lol
     
  3. daniero

    daniero I'm an asshole.

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Location:
    Regina, SK
    haha well, I'll have a look, but I'm definitely not in the market for a $600 cluster.. no other plug-and-play options?
     
  4. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    if i remember right the gsr cluster will plug right in also but im not sure on that, but it wont be hard even if you do,. but it wont sit in the bezel like stock, but the 99-00 si cluster you can get for like 150-200 bucks they look great
     
  5. daniero

    daniero I'm an asshole.

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Location:
    Regina, SK
    Okay sweet.. just another thing to spend more money on:thumbsdown: ...and wandering a little of topic (you seem very knowledgable,) since I haven't really seen a straightforward answer, what would I need exactly for a GSR swap into an EK? Would it just drop right in? I would just need the integra axles and shift linkage correct? and to wire vtec? I was also considering a chipped OBD1 P72 with an OBD2A->OBD1 jumper.. would that work?
     
  6. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    you could always buy a 75 buck cx gauge cluster they have tachs or a ex model for about the same price,,but you will need motor mounts, shift linkage.axles.and wiring work and then it will drop in. if it was me i would just buy a complete change over kit from hmotorsonline
     
  7. daniero

    daniero I'm an asshole.

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Location:
    Regina, SK
  8. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    yea thats the one i would get stick to the same year obdo as the car is it will make it alot easier, and i would call hmotors and ask them they like money so im sure they can hook you up
     
  9. daniero

    daniero I'm an asshole.

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Location:
    Regina, SK
    yeah.. thanks for the help:)
     
  10. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
  11. StupidSlowEG

    StupidSlowEG n00b

    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Location:
    Deland, Florida
    torontojdm.com would be good for you then they are in canada to
     
  12. Matts96HB

    Matts96HB . Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    6,483
    Likes Received:
    390
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    In all honesty, I'd say screw the Si cluster and go with an EX cluster. Cheaper.
     
  13. daniero

    daniero I'm an asshole.

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Location:
    Regina, SK
    Yeah.. an Si cluster would be a nice tidy addition to the interior.. but I'm hurtin on cash, so an EX one sounds like a better idea
     
  14. 97DXcoupe

    97DXcoupe GSR Swapped/Gutted

    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    Washington
    i just finished my swap on my EK and know EXACTLY what you need my friend :D

    $100 bucks and ill tell ya :ph34r:
    April Fool's?!^_^


    you need:
    ob2a (preferably) GSR out of a 96+ integra GSR
    GSR axles. drivers, passengers, and intermediate shaft
    Shift linkages w/a fancy knob of course, DUH. ;)
    GSR tranny or b16 hydraulic tranny

    ok now the fun part, pay very good attention to how im wording things, its REALLY important you get the right things.

    REAR TRANNY BRACKET from a 99-00 USDM Si. NOT the mount (the thing with rubber in it) you actually want the actual steel bracket that attaches to the tranny/motor.

    DRIVERS SIDE ENGINE BRACKET from a 99-00 USDM Si. again NOT the Rubber mount, the STEEL bracket that actually bolts onto the engine in the timing belt area.

    P54 A/C BRACKET OFF OF A 94-95 Del Sol SI. this is so you can keep your A/C. if you want to take the A/C off, get a P72 A/C BRACKET. you will need this for the drivers side torsion mount.

    PASSENGER SIDE TRANNY BRACKET from the GSR motor. i may be corrected on this as to i didn't deal with this bracket personally, but i think it has to be a gsr/b16 bracket that mounts onto the tranny. you will need this for the Passenger side torsion mount


    i STRONGLY recommend buying a set of Hasport motor mounts ( EKSTK is the ones you want) and front torsion mounts from Avid now because with all that extra torque and hp, your stock mounts wont be able to hold it very well.

    as far as the wiring goes, that can be messy. the first thing you need to figure out is if your motor is USDM or JDM.

    JDM motors will NOT have the crank angle sensor attached to the oil pump (if you experience this you can buy a 98+ oil pump w/ sensor to solve this) and if you get a JDM obd2a ECU that goes with the motor, you will be OK for the wiring.

    if you have a JDM gsr you have to put on a JDM ECU. OR MAKE SURE YOU BUY A 98+ GSR becuase the 96-97 gsr dont have a crank angle sensor (so i was told).

    also yes, wiring for the vtec.

    here is what i did with my setup.

    b18c JDM GSR purchased w/a JDM obd2a P72
    obd2a-obd1 jumper harness w/a chipped and tuned p28 w/ crank angle sensor, and knock sensor delete.

    it can get complicated, if you have any questions after i just confused you, PM me id be glad to help
     
  15. 97DXcoupe

    97DXcoupe GSR Swapped/Gutted

    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    Washington
    i got mine from Hmotorsonline as well, i paid 3300 after it was shipped. i got NEW axles, ecu, wiring, the proper brackets.. everything, all to my door ready to go. they are super helpful as well. call them up and ask for Steve. hes usually there till like 9 or 10pm pst. EXTREMELY knowledgeable. all the shops around here ive gone to say thats the ONLY place (and person) they buy their motors from.

    just my 2 cents :D
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page