what engine would be good in my 96 ek hatch

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

i would like to know what you guys think would be a good motor to swap into my ek.
my budget would be around 2500 for the entire swap. i know i don't want a k series motor cuz too much $$$
i was thinking along the lines of a b series motor. what do you think?
also go easy on me i'm a noob. thanks
Roberto :)

LS/VTEC B18B1 block with a GSR head bump the compression and you are rockin. You can find a LS for like $700, oh and get the GSR tranny too. Just my .02

Quoted post[/post]]
Quoted post[/post]]
LS/VTEC B18B1 block with a GSR head bump the compression and you are rockin. You can find a LS for like $700, oh and get the GSR tranny too. Just my .02
Easier said than done.
What kind of experiece (does the poster) have?

yes i'm a noob to hondas but not to working on cars. i'd rather have a ready to run motor. that b18c sounds good. i'd be open to an ls turbo also. i'm a welder by trade and a mechanic by choice. :p

on the ls/vtec there is some machining to be done right? would a b20 vtec be as good? or a b20 turbo?

Quoted post[/post]]
Quoted post[/post]]
Quoted post[/post]]
Easier said than done.
What kind of experiece (does the poster) have?

yes i'm a noob to hondas but not to working on cars. i'd rather have a ready to run motor. that b18c sounds good. i'd be open to an ls turbo also. i'm a welder by trade and a mechanic by choice. :p

on the ls/vtec there is some machining to be done right? would a b20 vtec be as good? or a b20 turbo?

Sure a B20 VTEC aka CRV/VTEC would be better you would have more displacement 2.0liter as opposed to a 1.8liter. The only thing you have to do is tap the block for oil and run the VTEC wires to the ECU. I am not good at mechanics so I had someone do it for me but I hear it is pretty easy.