1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What exactly do I need to put obd2 in an obd1 car?

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by joshisakson_, May 14, 2007.

  1. joshisakson_

    joshisakson_ New Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Hey everyone,

    I have been reading a lot on this and havn't really gotten a straight forward answer from anyone. Here is a straight forward question and I would just like a straight forward answer, or a link to one.

    I pulled the D16Z6 out of my Del Sol, and I am putting a D16Y7 into it. I am going from obd1 to obd2, as well as losing vtec. Its a manual transmission, I was going to put the transmission thats bolted to the D16Y7 in the Del Sol.

    What EXACTLY do I need to buy/do to make this engine work 100% normal. I plan on selling the car so it needs to be hassle free!

    Thank you VERY much in advance for any answers given.
     
  2. custompainter

    custompainter drive it like U stole it

    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Location:
    central CT
    you need a obd2 conversion harness - a P2E ecu and you need to run wires for the ckf sensor ~ (obd1 doesn't have a ckf sensor)
    or you can bypass the sensor .:FFS TechNet : CKF Bypass Trick :.
    thats only if you use the obd2 ecu
    if you not planning on changing the ecu then you can hook everything right up but the CEL will be on because you dont have the knock sensor and the vtec sh-t hooked up
    hope this helps
     
  3. joshisakson_

    joshisakson_ New Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Aside from the CEL being on, will the car run correct?

    Is a P2E ecu found in a 97 Civic DX(this is where I got the d16y7)?

    Where can I get an obd2 conversation harness?

    Where do I run the wires for the ckf sensor?

    Thank you very much for the help!
     
  4. 99sidude

    99sidude Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    3,707
    Likes Received:
    170
    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    well if you still have the z6, you could run tits obd1 dizzy, as well as its intake manifold and it would plug in to your stock harness like an obd1 engine.
     
  5. joshisakson_

    joshisakson_ New Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
    99sidude I have the z6 still. So if I put then distributor and the intake from the z6 on, then I can skip buying a wiring harness? I would still have to run wires for the knock sensor though correct?
     
  6. 99sidude

    99sidude Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    3,707
    Likes Received:
    170
    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
  7. joshisakson_

    joshisakson_ New Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
    anything I can do about the vtec then? it will still make the check engine light come on, correct? anything I can do about that?
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2007
  8. 99sidude

    99sidude Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    3,707
    Likes Received:
    170
    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    The check engine light will come on if you use the p28 ecu (z6 ecu), get an ecu from a 92-95 civic running the d15b7 engine (dx models- non vtec)
     
  9. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    and all this is found in the FAQ section.
     
  10. joshisakson_

    joshisakson_ New Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Can I just use the ECU from the 97 DX, get an obd2 conversion harness, and bypass the knock sensor to be able to run without any lights?
     
  11. joshisakson_

    joshisakson_ New Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Okay I just checked the price on a conversion harness, its 125 bucks, if I get an obd1 non vtec ecu, will the engine run fine? I only ask because its coming out of a 1.5L and going onto a 1.6L.

    Does it have to be the dx model? What about the lx model? Does it matter that its going into a Del Sol? Does it have to come out of a manual if its going into a manual?
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2007
  12. 99sidude

    99sidude Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    3,707
    Likes Received:
    170
    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    get an ecu from any non-vtec obd1(92-95) civic or integra, and it will run your engine. The 92-95 lx civics have the same engine as the dx models
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page