1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What is a jumper?

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by CRXSI91, Dec 13, 2004.

  1. CRXSI91

    CRXSI91 Senior Member

    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    it says,in order to conver a automatic p28 ecu,into a manual one..you have to remove the rp17 jumper..and install one across rp18...now..


    i looked at the inside of the ecu..and theres little small "ant" lookin things running across rp17 and 18...are those jumpers?? cus if so..all i have to do,is remove rp17,and the ecu will be a manual one..someone please help me out.
     
  2. b16coupe

    b16coupe Senior Member

    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Location:
    anderson, S.C.
    Those ant looking things are resistors. You remove both the rp17 and 18 resistors and replace the rp18 one with a jumper. A jumper is just a peice of wire.
     
  3. CRXSI91

    CRXSI91 Senior Member

    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004



    can it be any piece of wire? or does it have to be copper or something?
     
  4. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    just use the leg off of a resistor.
     
  5. hcivic.com

    hcivic.com Senior Member

    Messages:
    4,571
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta canada
    i just use a piece of phone wire
     
  6. projekteg

    projekteg Senior Member

    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    yes, there are jumpers that look like regular resistors that come in the ecu, but you don't need to use ones like that. just cut a leg off of another resistor or capacitor or something, i wouldn't really suggest using wire b/c if the wire is too thick, it won't conduct too well.
     
  7. hcivic.com

    hcivic.com Senior Member

    Messages:
    4,571
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta canada
    phone wire is what i use to repair all my circuts from my ecu to hdrives.
     
  8. projekteg

    projekteg Senior Member

    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004



    dayum, that's a good idea, i always use those gay jumper repair kits from radio shack to repair circuits, but those jumpers are kind of thick and hard to make really tight bends if you're working in a tight area, i may have to try the phone wire ;)
     
  9. nfn15037

    nfn15037 Senior Member

    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Pull the jacket off some Cat5 wire, that works great too :D
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page