1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

whats wrong with my b16

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by b164gen, Jul 14, 2003.

1. b164gen

b164gen Member

i have a 91 civic si hatchback, fully gutted, it does have 4 wheel disc brakes, it has a b16 swap in it non lsd, intake, header, exhaust, full msd, i weigh a bit over 250, the best i can pull out at the track is a 15.6 at 88 mph, so i went with some lighter wheels these did weigh 20 poundds each and was having so bad wheel spin and pulled out another 15.6 at 93 mph, these heavy wheels made almost 6 miles an hour difference top end, if i was to run another 93 mph what kinda time should i expect and do you all think something is wrong.....i am a really decent driver, help, and other times would be a big help

2. jeffie7

jeffie7 Wrong Whole! VIP

do you have the JDM SIR trans? SI trans? or LS trans? either way you are running really slow sounds like driver error unless your running a crappy ass ECU?

my first time ever to the track with a FWD car a 95 coupe with system heavy wheels JDM B16 88-91 WITH LS TRANS!!!! and intake/cat back exhaust and the wrong ECU I ran a 15.2 could not run better but was right at 15.2s almost every run

what RPM are you launching at? I like to spin my tires just a tad bit hondas tend to take off better that way also if you want try shifting full throttle just hold down the throttle and when time comes to shift pop the clutch in and shift gears then let it back up

I was running 15.2s using normal shifting then I blew a start and shifted full throttle and still managed to run a 15.2 so it does help a good bit

3. b164gen

b164gen Member

I have a good j1 tranny and pr3 ecu (the good one), im launching at 5000 with the heavy wheels and jumping out the hole (really good launches) and I can drive pretty well, im not power shifting, but still theres some type of problem

4. E_SolSi