1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Where Can I Find Jdm Ecus?

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by MarkJimenez99, Apr 17, 2003.

  1. MarkJimenez99

    MarkJimenez99 Senior Member

    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Hi, guys. I was just wondering if you know of any places or sites that sell JDM ECUs. In particular, I'm looking for a 98 or 99 JDM LS ECU. I just swapped an LS engine into my 99 civic dx coupe and I know that the JDM ECUs will make my car run properly with no check engine lights. Reply back if you know of any places or sites that sell JDM ECUs.
     
  2. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,036
    Likes Received:
    3,969
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    a JDM ECU will also make your car cut out at 113mph
    :bash: fuckin speed limiters :(
     
  3. MarkJimenez99

    MarkJimenez99 Senior Member

    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Really? I probably won't be going that fast anyways. So how fast can you go with a USDM ECU? I'm currently running an SI ECU at the moment. The check engine light is on and the problems are regarding the VTEC. I swapped an LS motor in my 99 civic coupe dx. I know that I can convert from OBD2 to OBD1 but my car won't pass smog.(I live in CA) I know you can remove the immobilizer on a USDM OBD2 LS ECU and the car would run properly but I'll still get a check engine light. If I get the Apexi Power FC ECU, my car probably won't be able to pass smog. Anybody have any suggestions? My car seems to be running ok with the SI computer. My idle is a little off(1.5RPM), but it's ok. Would it be a good idea to just keep the SI ECU and somehow bypass the VTEC codes? Is there any way I can tell the ECU to bypass the VTEC? I just want to get rid of that check engine light and make sure my car runs fine and be able to pass smog.
     
  4. JDMFreak405

    JDMFreak405 Junior Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    most serious racers used chipped ecu... and reg. racers... like if we buy the motor with the complete package (engine swap) then we get a jdm ecu..but i think chipped ecu is better... hehe
     
  5. Drock42

    Drock42 Senior Member

    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Location:
    Alamogordo, New Mexico

    IMO....it's best to have a stock ecu to get everything in order with the swap. after everything works properly THEN you chip it...true?! i'm still looking for a p13 obd1 for my h22a (93-95 vtec)...so if anyone has a respectable site that carries ecu's let us know!! (i could also benefit from knowing where to find a h22 tranny too) thanks!!
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page