1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

which cable????

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by eg6sir, May 29, 2007.

  1. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    alright.. i'm wondering what cable i'd need to run my computer through my TV.. i have a few movies i'd like to watch, but dont have a DVD burner.. on the back of my TV there are AV jacks that say monitor, i'm assuming they are for the computer.. what would i need?? and will this work?
     
  2. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    the real question is, what does your pc video card have for outputs?
     
  3. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    i have no idea.. how would i check that?? i know how to do use a computer and do semi-advanced stuff, but when it comes to what inside it.. i'm clueless

    my 6Kth post.. woot!
     
  4. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    um, look at the back of the computer. lol

    [​IMG]

    if you have the s-video out, its the easiest as most tv's have this input. Quality is also rather lack-luster.

    but, then you also need to consider sound..... that is video only
     
  5. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    alright.. let me look at my scrambled mess of wires and dust.. hahah
     
  6. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    /eg6sir signs off



    lol


    wrong wire hommie
     
  7. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    dont have an s-video not real sure what plug to look for..

    here is a pic of the back of my PC
     

    Attached Files:

  8. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    time to get a tuner card, or a video card with outputs, or some sort of d-sub to svideo/ryw converter.
     
  9. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    yea, i figured i wouldnt be able to without upgrading shit.. just though i'd ask..
     
  10. Sabz5150

    Sabz5150 FALCON PUNCH!!!

    Messages:
    3,335
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Buy a TV with a VGA input.
     
  11. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
  12. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    do they make an adapter so it plug into the av jacks? buying another TV is not an option, i could just buy a dvd burner and not worry about it
     
  13. Sabz5150

    Sabz5150 FALCON PUNCH!!!

    Messages:
    3,335
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    At this point you're going to need a new video card. Your built in card doesn't have the outputs required to display on your TV. A new card isn't expensive and it has the ports you're going to need.
     
  14. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Get a picture of what the back of the computer looks like.
     
  15. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    Last edited: May 30, 2007
  16. jamesA

    jamesA Well known pissed off telephone guy VIP

    Messages:
    16,119
    Likes Received:
    1,016
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    You need this.

    [​IMG]
     
  17. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Nah.. THats why too expensive. I see it at Fry's free after rebate from time to time.

    AnandTech - ººººº--§§§§§§§--The Freebies thread--§§§§§§§--ººººº Part Cinq.

    go there and see if anyone is giving older video cards with tv out. its free plus the cost of shipping and i see a few pop up pretty often.

    i just cant justify seeing u spend more than $15 on an old video card just to watch movies.
     
  18. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    when you go buy your new graphics card...

    [​IMG]
     
  19. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    yea, i know.. its a dusty mofo.. hahah

    i'll check out that freebies site

    its not only to just watch movies.. i'll probably use it for my monitor too.. 27in flat screen > 15in flat panel
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2007
  20. Sabz5150

    Sabz5150 FALCON PUNCH!!!

    Messages:
    3,335
    Likes Received:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Flatscreen? You sure you don't have a VGA port on that thing? That'd solve all.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page