1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which mounts have to be replaced?

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by scottp11, Jan 17, 2004.

  1. scottp11

    scottp11 The Seniorest Member....

    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Location:
    El Paso, TX now, originally from Fresno, CA
    I recently put a b16 into my 97 civic, where I replace all my mounts with Hasports. I'm doing my friends and he wants OEM mounts cuzz he said my car "vibrates" too much. People are telling me that you don't have to replace all the mounts, just the rear bracket. Is that true? :huh:

    Thanx for all your wisdom! :D :worthy:
     
  2. civic15.8

    civic15.8 Senior Member

    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    alabama
    replace them all
     
  3. scottp11

    scottp11 The Seniorest Member....

    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Location:
    El Paso, TX now, originally from Fresno, CA
    Which ones HAVE to be replaced?
     
  4. civic15.8

    civic15.8 Senior Member

    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    alabama
    none of them HAVE to be replaced but replace them all of more reliability
     
  5. scottp11

    scottp11 The Seniorest Member....

    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Location:
    El Paso, TX now, originally from Fresno, CA
    I heard that the rear "L" bracket and the mount on the driver side HAD to be replaced. Is that true? Can someone else answer with some correct information? Thanx.
     
  6. SiLenTSpeeDEk9

    SiLenTSpeeDEk9 Junior Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Dude i just got a b18c swap in my ek (96-00) civic and the only mounts that had to be replaced was the DRIVERS SIDE ENGINE MOUNT and the REAR TRANSMISSION MOUNT. Your gonna wanna get the 99-00 CIVIC SI DRIVERS SIDE MOUNT AND REAR TRANSMISSION MOUNT. And trust me i know what i'm talking about because i just did this swap a few weeks ago. :spin:
     
  7. JDMilan

    JDMilan Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    the rear mount should be replaced with a GSR rear mount. I believe you can still use the front upper motor mount, You don't have to use the lower motor mount or the lower tranny mount.

    When doing the swap I would suggest getting new or upgraded mounts, I had 2 gsr moutns bust on me over the span of 2 years wtih my hybrid.
     
  8. civic15.8

    civic15.8 Senior Member

    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    alabama
    :werd: like i said replace all of them
     
  9. scottp11

    scottp11 The Seniorest Member....

    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Location:
    El Paso, TX now, originally from Fresno, CA
    thanx! Got the rear tranny mount and driver side mount, gonna put the engine in this weekend. Thanx again to all those with actual answers. :D
     
  10. scottp11

    scottp11 The Seniorest Member....

    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Location:
    El Paso, TX now, originally from Fresno, CA
    Engine's in... will post pix when it's runnin'!
     
  11. civic15.8

    civic15.8 Senior Member

    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    alabama
    sweet yea post some pics
     
  12. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.

    Depends on the bracket on the motor. And no you don't HAVE to use the torque mounts, but they do affect performance bigtime. I drove mine without them for a while, and when I finally replaced them it was night and day. Now if you're running the HAsport pieces, they are hard enough to hold the motor in place and they are not required.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page