1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

which wire is the one?

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by ek9r, Sep 16, 2003.

  1. ek9r

    ek9r Senior Member

    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Location:
    Long Island NY
    i have a 00 civic dx w/ a 00 si cluster, im installing a shift light in my air vent and see no reason to fun extra wire all the way to the negative on the coil in the engine bay.
    I was wondering if anybody knows which wire on the 00 si cluster is the rpm signal?
    thanks for the help! ;)
     
  2. blundar

    blundar Senior Member

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Location:
    Sinsinnasty, Ohio
    you probably will have to run that wire because the ECU does not receive a "RPM signal" - instead it receives TDC, CYP and CKP reluctor signals from the distributor and infers RPM from them. This is very different kind of signal than the coil signal your shift light wants. You *might* be able to get away with using the ignition output signal from the ECU, but I'd be slightly scared to do this.
     
  3. ek9r

    ek9r Senior Member

    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Location:
    Long Island NY
    it IS possible to get the negative coil signal from the cluster. my friend had it done to his car (same car as mine) but it got stolen and he dosent remember which wire it was behind the cluster.
     
  4. blundar

    blundar Senior Member

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Location:
    Sinsinnasty, Ohio
    my bad - I thought you meant from the ECU. Misread your post. Lemme look and see if I can find any wirnig diagrams for the EK Si...
     
  5. ek9r

    ek9r Senior Member

    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Location:
    Long Island NY
    rock om wit ya bad self!
    thats cool i appreciate it :p
     
  6. AllMotorMonster

    AllMotorMonster Senior Member

    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    Inland Empire foo!

    It's usually blue (20ga)
     
  7. ek9r

    ek9r Senior Member

    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Location:
    Long Island NY

    there are at least 3 blue wires. i need the pin location just to be sure
     
  8. toyz51

    toyz51 Member

    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    It is blue, but I am not sure which one it is. What I would do is just go on the other side of the firewall to the blue tach wire on the test terminal.
     
  9. ek9r

    ek9r Senior Member

    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    Location:
    Long Island NY
    i really dont want to run wires through the firewall. id rather find the signal at the cluster. i know its there because the 00 si cluster reads the rpms fine, but thanks for the advice. :huh:
     
  10. AllMotorMonster

    AllMotorMonster Senior Member

    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    Inland Empire foo!
    You could always test it.

    With a DMM, set to AC voltage

    Start the car, and with the cluster out, Ground one end of the test leads and insert the other into (A) blue wire. Then rev the car a little, you should notice a small jump in voltage.

    This is your tach wire.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page