Who has taken the FE exam?

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

seanjuan

I graduated from the U of M (Minnesota) last spring with a BS in Mechanical Engineering... I had about a 3.0 so by no means am I one of the smartest guys in my field but in the months since I have graduated I believe I am becoming even more stupider (bad gramar on purpose)

I was going to take the FE last spring but decided it would be too much work to study for that along with finishing up my degree so I decided I would take it some time this winter or next spring.... so I need to start studying now and was wondering if anyone on here has any tips on studying for this test or good resources to use when studying
can you get old copies of the test anywhere to take as practice exams?

does anyone have a FE study guide or book they would want to sell me?

does anyone work somewhere that needs a mech E? I kinda need a job right now too

thanks guys
Sean

I took it right before I graduated...

I don't know how it is in Minnesota, but here in Texas it's really an extremely biased test- biased towards MEs. You have several sections. One EE section, one Chem E, one Aero, one thermo, one kinematics, one fluids- you get the idea. Basically half of my test was all ME stuff.

I didn't study anything at all except for the first page of the book, and I still pulled a 77. You only need a 50 to pass (I think). If you want a book, I can dig mine up for you and send it your way for not too much.

I might take you up on the book Calesta
I'm going to talk to a couple of my buddies around here and see what they used to study and if they have a book lyin around I could borrow then you wouldn't have to go through the hassle of shipping it... I'll let you know

what was your major?