1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Why is my RPM guage not working?

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by ktyr5151, Sep 7, 2011.

  1. ktyr5151

    ktyr5151 New Member

    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Location:
    Springfield, VT
    Hey all i have a d16z6 and just recently my rpm guage stopped working. Sometimes it kicks on and then flutters a little and then shuts off. My car is idling perfectly fine with no problems. Any suggestions, thanks.
     
  2. Rammus

    Rammus New Member

    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Location:
    MN
    I would assume electrical connection or at least that is what it sounds like to me. If the wires or contact points are corroded it would make sense that it may randomly get a decent enough connection to move the needle.
     
  3. efhondakid

    efhondakid My name is Byron. VIP

    Messages:
    7,034
    Likes Received:
    202
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Location:
    Akron-Canton, Ohio
    When my alt crapped the bed I would be driving and my tach would stop working. :dunno:
     
  4. B16

    B16 Super Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,539
    Likes Received:
    534
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    yay area, CA
    I had a bad ground and my tach went crazy.
     
  5. ktyr5151

    ktyr5151 New Member

    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Location:
    Springfield, VT
    Hmmm. Well thanks for the quick response everybody i appreciate it. I dont think its my alternator cause my battery died today and i had to pop start it and the battery has been fine since. My tach really isnt going crazy at all. It did when i first started to act up like 3 days ago. And after that day it just doesnt work at all. It just sits there at 0 and doesnt move. Every once in a while it might kick on and then die out again. I had a friend tell me that it might be the conection to the crank because thats where he said the sensor was for the rpm guage. Is this true. I honestly have no clue what it could be. Its not a big enough deal to where im freaking out about to get it fixed its just annoying not being able to see my rpm's. Again, Thanks everybody for the quick replies.
     
  6. ls94civic

    ls94civic New Member

    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Location:
    vermont
    i had problems with my cluster doing the same thing i picked up another cluster and the problem was fixed
     
  7. ktyr5151

    ktyr5151 New Member

    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Location:
    Springfield, VT
    Where would I check if it were electrical problems or a bad connection?
     
  8. ls94civic

    ls94civic New Member

    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Location:
    vermont
    behind the cluster is a start
     
  9. ktyr5151

    ktyr5151 New Member

    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Location:
    Springfield, VT
    where is the other conection?
     
  10. Matts96HB

    Matts96HB . Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    6,483
    Likes Received:
    390
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    check the wires leading to the distributor
     
  11. ktyr5151

    ktyr5151 New Member

    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Location:
    Springfield, VT
    Alright ill check that after work today. Thanks for all the help everyone.
     
  12. B16

    B16 Super Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,539
    Likes Received:
    534
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    yay area, CA
    RPM signal comes from the distributor not the crank.
     
  13. bluejcivic

    bluejcivic New Member

    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    i think you icm is going bad in the dizzy, had it happen to me before
     
  14. ktyr5151

    ktyr5151 New Member

    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Location:
    Springfield, VT
    What/Where is the icm?
     
  15. bluejcivic

    bluejcivic New Member

    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    small match book sized thing in the dizz, next to the coil, it controls the spark.
    looks like this
    Google Images
     
  16. ktyr5151

    ktyr5151 New Member

    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Location:
    Springfield, VT
    Would that cause my dizzy to fail? What would happen the icm does crap the bed?
     
  17. bluejcivic

    bluejcivic New Member

    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    it eventually will cause the dizz to die, when it first starts going bad, your tach starts to jump, then it stops jumping and occasionally flickers. its possible its just a corroded lead going to the icm. take it apart and look.. good luck
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page