1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wich H22a?

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by ovcrash, Apr 9, 2003.

  1. ovcrash

    ovcrash Senior Member

    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Wich H22A should i get? 94-95? or 97 and up?
     
  2. ovcrash

    ovcrash Senior Member

    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Where could i get a 1997 JDM H22A for a good price? I'm in Canada.
     
  3. dohcvtec_accord

    dohcvtec_accord WRX Sellout

    Messages:
    8,433
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    The left lane

    Depends on what car it's going into.

    EDIT: Looks like you drive a 97 HB. I'd say get anything 96+, they're OBD2. Consider getting an H22A out of a Type-S Prelude, a few more foot-pounds and 20 extra horses.
     
  4. ovcrash

    ovcrash Senior Member

    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Thanks, but where could i get a H22A 1997?? Osaka doesn't have any..and i can't find no one that has some! :(
     
  5. dohcvtec_accord

    dohcvtec_accord WRX Sellout

    Messages:
    8,433
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    The left lane
    Stay away from Osaka y0!!!

    Doesn't hmotorsonline.com carry them?
     
  6. ovcrash

    ovcrash Senior Member

    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    why stay away from Osaka?

    Yeah! the place you say has it, but the Type-S is more expensive. I'll try to check if i can't find one some where?! There damm hard to find.
     
  7. dohcvtec_accord

    dohcvtec_accord WRX Sellout

    Messages:
    8,433
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    The left lane
    http://www.hondaswap.com/forums/index.php?...t=4386&hl=osaka

    http://www.hondaswap.com/forums/index.php?...t=5823&hl=osaka

    http://www.hondaswap.com/forums/index.php?...&t=192&hl=osaka

    http://www.honda-tech.com/zerothread?id=457046

    http://www.hondaswap.com/forums/index.php?...t=ST&f=4&t=3323

    It's alot to read, but it'll give you a pretty good idea about why not to buy from Osaka. Search some more, you'll find more shit.

    Check out the site some more, plenty of people have listed reputable engine importers.
     
  8. paragus

    paragus Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    just wanna clarify what dohcvtec_accord said.. i think he meant to say get a 97+ motor. 92-96 is obd1, 97+ is obd2. and try to get one without a atts transmission.
     
  9. dohcvtec_accord

    dohcvtec_accord WRX Sellout

    Messages:
    8,433
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    The left lane
    Ummm nope. I meant what I said. 92-95: OBD1....96+ OBD2 :D

    But definitely get one without ATTS.
     
  10. paragus

    paragus Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    :werd: i just went and did some homework and your right i never looked it up, i just assumed it because, for example a when u buy a header, for the h22. The header for 92-96 is different than the header for a 97+.
     
  11. dohcvtec_accord

    dohcvtec_accord WRX Sellout

    Messages:
    8,433
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    The left lane
    Yeah, it was strange. The Civic gens worked out just fine, but the Accord and Prelude gens got split up. Honda took the opporunity to do a sort of "5-1/2" gen for the Accord. There were the 94-95 5th gen's and the 96-97 5th gen's. So you'll see alot of advertisements for parts for a 94-95 Accord that won't work on the same gen, but 96-97. Believe me, that confused me for a long time. :)
     
  12. ovcrash

    ovcrash Senior Member

    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    i won't get a H22A with ATTS, man the price between the ATTS one and NO ATTS one is terrible! I'm gonna live without the ATTS one.
    And first of all just finding a H22A 97 and + is really hard! i'm in canada and can't even find a importer that has some.
     
  13. paragus

    paragus Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    what car is this going into?? you dont want atts because its a pain in the ass to hook up, and its crap anyways. I dont know how many routes your exploring or what ideas u got running in your head. But ill also give ya this tid bit of info just incase. If for some reason you have to use a USDM ECU or need to look for one. You want a USDM 96 ECU. The 97+ USDM ECU's have the immobilizer in it. and i dont know whats involved in hooking that up or if you even can, because everything ive read people end up gettin rid of that ecu. THe 96 is the only USDM OBD2 p13 ECU that doesnt have the immomilizer. the JDM ecu's dont have the immobilizer in them, so you dont have to worry about any JDM ones.
     
  14. ovcrash

    ovcrash Senior Member

    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    why do i need a H22A motor 96 and + ?? Because the 94 - 95 doesn't fit?
    Is it because you can't wire the 94 - 95 JDM H22A into a Civic 97 HB ??
    Because i can't fucking find a H22A JDM 96 and + for a good price, all the prices are up the roof!

    Please help me.. ;)
     
  15. paragus

    paragus Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    you dont need one 96+, its just more of a headache if its not. If you get a 92-95 motor then you gotta wire your car for obd1, but your car is obd2. Or you bring the motor up to obd2 which i dont know how to do.
     
  16. ovcrash

    ovcrash Senior Member

    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    what do i need to change my obd2 to a obd1 if i put a h22a 95 ?? i need the cu and wiring harness ?
     
  17. paragus

    paragus Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    you need a obd1 ecu and a obd1 wiring, i would imagine. Ive never done this, and ive never looked into it, cuz i have a obd1 car :p , maybe someone else can shed some light on how its done.
     
  18. dohcvtec_accord

    dohcvtec_accord WRX Sellout

    Messages:
    8,433
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    The left lane
    He'd also need the conversion harness, whatever that costs. $250?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page