1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Will a D16A6 Sir work with a D16Z6 head??

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by Angus, Jan 21, 2007.

  1. Angus

    Angus New Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Location:
    Kansas City
    I may have found a d16a6 sir jdm engine for a decent price. I am needing a good lower end for my d16z6 head in my '92 Civic EX. Will this combo work as a stock engine with 87 octane gas? And what is the difference in a "sir jdm" engine over a normal d16a6? Or is there a difference.

    Thanks, Angus
     
  2. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    It'll work, but make sure you use an A6 head gasket so that you can come up with 9.7:1 compression.

    Compression Calculator

    That's pretty accurate- just make sure you select the right components for your setup (correct pistons, head, gasket etc).

    The SiR might have had different pistons, but if the block is stamped "D16A6" then it's a D16A6.
     
  3. Angus

    Angus New Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Will 9.7 to 1 run on 87 pump gas? Ang should I use the a6 pistons or swap with a different set?
     
  4. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    9.7:1 will work on 87 octane, but you might have to step up to 89 on the stock ECU tuning setup. The D16Y8 runs at a stock compression ratio of 9.6:1, so I imagine that 9.7 will be ok.
     
  5. Angus

    Angus New Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Location:
    Kansas City
    So installing this d16a6 block/z6 head in my '92 EX should work well as a daily driver?
     
  6. Andrew

    Andrew Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,685
    Likes Received:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL
    Yeah it should work just fine, but if it's an EX, why don't you just keep it stock(z6)?
    if you want a little more power, obviously after bolt-ons, try slapping a thinner HG in there, and maybe getting a little headwork done to bump a few hp out?

    just throwing out some suggestions..
     
  7. Angus

    Angus New Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Location:
    Kansas City
    My Z6 block has a big hole in it. I tried to find a good priced z6, but very few are out there. I am not looking for any more power, just a good lower end for a milage car to give the kids. I got this car for salvage from a customer and do not want to spend big bucks.

    Angus
     
  8. Andrew

    Andrew Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,685
    Likes Received:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL
    well, remember you can use any D series bottom end, and actually, you might be able to find a cheap D15b7 with low mileage and put the Z6 head on it, making a Mini-me.

    D15's are everywhere! (and uber cheap)
     
  9. Angus

    Angus New Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Well I have bought a D16A6 that has 150,000 miles but had good compression. The head has been off and the cam is gone, but I'm going to rebuild it and use my complete Z6 head anyway. OK, what combination of parts is going to work for me as a stock normal compression motor. I guess my main concerns are the correct head gasket, timing belt, and pistons.

    Angus
     
  10. Andrew

    Andrew Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    2,685
    Likes Received:
    26
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL
    Just leave the bottom end stock(rebuild of course), and use the A6 headgasket.
    You'll have near-stock compression.

    And use the z6 timing belt.
     
  11. Angus

    Angus New Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Location:
    Kansas City
    OK A6 lower end and head gasket, Z6 head, timing belt and upper end. The computer is the stock Z6 in the '92 Civic EX. Will I have a big problem with 87 octane or should I use different pistons? With the block having 150,000 miles I may have to clean up bore and get new oversize anyway.

    Angus
     
  12. klyph

    klyph Dismember VIP

    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    262
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Location:
    North Pole, AK
    If it's got 150K I would definetely bore/hone and put new pistons/rings in it.
     
  13. Angus

    Angus New Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Location:
    Kansas City
    I will probably have to replace the pistons anyway. I was just checking a compression calculator and found something out. Even though its an A6 block, if I use Z6 pistons, head gasket and head it looks like I get a Z6 in every way.

    Just considering the block only what is the difference in a A6 and Z6.

    Angus
     
  14. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Nothing, really. Maybe the strength of the girdle, and the slightly lower weight because the "A" stamping removes more material than the "Z" :)
     
  15. Angus

    Angus New Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Location:
    Kansas City
    Alright then. Bore it for the new pistons and consider the block a strong Z6. I like that idea.

    Thanks all, Angus
     
  16. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
  17. Angus

    Angus New Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Location:
    Kansas City
    OK, got the A6 block and it looks good. The crank has no groves and there is hardly any ridge on the cylinder walls. Not bad for a block with 150,000. Anyway I am planning on cleaning it up with a overbore and new Z6 pistons, but I cannot find a good sorce. The local Honda dealer would not work with me even though I'm a shop. The parts drone said they do not sell pistons???

    Were do you guys suggest I buy my pistons and rebuild parts?

    Thanks
     
  18. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    The dealer can order the pistons- they probably just don't want to bother with it. You can get a set of cheap used good condition pistons on eBay or Honda-Tech somewhere, then buy new rings to go with them.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page