1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Will A D16z Cam Fit Into A D15 Engine?

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by sportlinecrx, May 17, 2003.

  1. sportlinecrx

    sportlinecrx Banned

    Messages:
    6,020
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    will a cam designed for a D16z6 fit a D15B2 engine? I was told once that i should put the si cam in my D15, so I am hoping its "yes"...but i really want to know if a performance cam for a D16z will work.
     
  2. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX

    No. The D16 VTEC cam has 5 lobes per cylinder, while your D15 cam only has 4. The rocker/follower setup is most likely different (in terms of placement vs lobes on the cam) and the journals that hold the cam in place might be in different locations as well. The Si cam from the D16A6 should fit though- just not the D16Z6. The heads for the D15B2 and the D16A6 are identical.
     
  3. goatnipples2002

    goatnipples2002 Junior Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    will the D16A6 cam shaft fit in my D15b7? If not what will?
     
  4. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    I've never done it, but I'm pretty sure that it will.
     
  5. sportlinecrx

    sportlinecrx Banned

    Messages:
    6,020
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    damn. i keep getting the A6 and the Z6 mixed up :bash: i originally meant the A6 (non-vtec). thanks for the reply mike.

    one last thing...if the A6 cam will fit, will a skunk2 stage 1 cam for an A6 fit my D15?

    i know its like a waste to build a D15, and i doubt i will actually get the cam, but would like to know anyway. :)
     
  6. chasengnouc

    chasengnouc Junior Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    if you would like to damage you cylinder head try putting it on. HOPEFULLY it'll fit.
     
  7. sportlinecrx

    sportlinecrx Banned

    Messages:
    6,020
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002

    the heads are apparently IDENTICAL (D16a6 and D15b2) according to mike (calesta)...and i believe mike knows his shit. what i want to know is if there is any SPECIFIC reason why it will not work.
     
  8. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    I don't think there's any specific reason why it wouldn't work, unless the valves won't clear the pistons or something.

    The way I understand the head castings, the A6 and B2 heads are the same- it's the cam, intake manifold, and injector setup that differentiate the two.
     
  9. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    for the $300 bucks you'd spend on a cam, why not do a z6 mini me head swap?
     
  10. sportlinecrx

    sportlinecrx Banned

    Messages:
    6,020
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002

    not smog legal :( ...but the skunk2 cam is
     
  11. Jeef

    Jeef NO MA'AM Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    7,150
    Likes Received:
    294
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    If thre mini-me isnt smog legal then swap in a z6 or y8.
     
  12. MaaseyRacer

    MaaseyRacer Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,980
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    San Francisco, Ca.
    hey man i will sell you the a6 cam for way cheap, and how are the guys at your local smog shop going to know you have a cam in there, all they do is pop you hood and stick a pipe up your exaust.
     
  13. sportlinecrx

    sportlinecrx Banned

    Messages:
    6,020
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    the skunk2 cam is legal (beleive it or not)...the mini-me swap isn't. thanks for the offer though, Masseyracer..hmm, so tempting. as for doing a swap, im just not ready to part with my perfectly runnning D15. now ive got a DC header and i love it even more! :worthy:
     
  14. solblu

    solblu Senior Member

    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Location:
    Ricer
    Yes the A6 cam fits fine. Yes aftermarket A6 cams fit fine. Delta does regrinds fro $85 , alot cheaper than the skunk I'm sure.

    Honda Tech has a list of A6 cams and thier specs just do a search
     
  15. sportlinecrx

    sportlinecrx Banned

    Messages:
    6,020
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page