1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

will a manuel P28 work on an auto car?

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by CRVTEC EG, Jan 17, 2005.

  1. CRVTEC EG

    CRVTEC EG Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    I tried doing a search but couldn't find anything other then auto to manual conversion threads.......

    I'm looking for an auto P28 but can't find any.....would a manual P28 work on an auto D15b? Thanks for any help
     
  2. 92civicb18b1

    92civicb18b1 The Trisexual

    Messages:
    8,859
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2003
    Location:
    The asshole of the USA, New Jersey
    short and simple. no
     
  3. CRVTEC EG

    CRVTEC EG Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
  4. CRX-YEM

    CRX-YEM Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    the answer isn't mearly a NO!

    actually if you open up the ECU and put a resitor in the correct spot
    J18 or something I can't remember the position It will be able to work with an automatic transmission
     
  5. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
  6. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    i'm not 100% sure if it will work like that. I know you can easily convert an auto to manual by getting rid of the resistor and adding a jumper, however. I thought there were two transistors on an auto ECU that arent there on the manual ECU's.

    i'm sure Allmotormonster or projeckteg will have some input...
     
  7. CRVTEC EG

    CRVTEC EG Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005



    HAHA, i thought about that as i was reading the reply's....i'm not refering to a spanish dude :lol:



    I'm looking at one on ebay but the serial number on it ends in -A52....i was under the impression that auto's ended in -900

    Thanks for the help guys :thumbsup:
     
  8. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home


    oohh , i read the topic backwards.
     
  9. Jim Truett

    Jim Truett Senior Member

    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003


    The JDM ECUs will be -900. The USDM will be A50, 51, 52, L50, L51, or L52.
     
  10. TeamUrbanChaos

    TeamUrbanChaos Certified H22 Super-tech

    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    Home Of ThE LoSt Towers
    i thought it was the other way around....you can turn an auto ECU into a manual by removing some of the resistors but you cant turn a manual into an auto??
     
  11. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    thats what i was saying... i believe there are two transistors (among other things) that are present on auto ECU's and removing that resistor and installing a jumper merely bypasses that part of the circuit. i am not 100% sure on this though. and i sold my ECU that I converted to manual (along with the car) so i have no way to verify
     
  12. CRVTEC EG

    CRVTEC EG Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005



    Good to know.....thanks again for all the help guys
    Steve
     
  13. AllMotorMonster

    AllMotorMonster Senior Member

    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    Inland Empire foo!


    Urban is correct.

    Although, you really can't use a Auto ecu for a Manual car correctly in stock form.

    But if you program it you can. Even though people do it all the time....
     
  14. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    can you elaborate on why, for my personal interest? what is present in OEM auto ecu's that aren't on the "manuel" :ph34r:
     
  15. projekteg

    projekteg Senior Member

    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004



    the most noticable differences by a glance are the 2 sk5050/sk5151 highside power switches located at ic15 and ic16 (used to control auto lock up solenoids, same component is located at ic14 and ic13 on obd1 vtec ecu's to control the vtec solenoids also) on auto ecu's, and the jumper/resistor configuration at rp17 and rp18. there are a few other little things that you can notice if comparing an auto ecu to a manual ecu of the same board type, but i don't remember all of them off the top of my head.
     
  16. AllMotorMonster

    AllMotorMonster Senior Member

    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    Inland Empire foo!


    The fuel and timing maps are different.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page