1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

will an obd1 engine harness function in an obd2a car?

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by Sinner, Jan 4, 2006.

  1. Sinner

    Sinner Member

    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    I have a 97 integra and I want to swap in a obd1 engine that comes with a obd1 harness. I no longer have an obd2 engine harness. So my plan is using 97 integra w/ obd1 engine and harness engine harness controlled by obd1 ecu which is connected to an obd2->obd1 ecu harness.


    Thanks,
    Nick
     
  2. SixtySecondAssassin

    SixtySecondAssassin Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    yep, that'll work. i dont know if this is required where you live, but here, on obdII vehicles, the diagnostic port is checked at inspection time. you might want to look into that.
     
  3. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Isn't the port in the cabin though...if so, shouldn't make a difference if you just use the OBD I engine harness. For the tegs the harness are pretty much the same.
     
  4. SixtySecondAssassin

    SixtySecondAssassin Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    yea, everything will plug in and run fine. but when the diag. port is hooked up to the odbII computer checker thing at inspection time, the odbI ecu wont communicate with it. he should check as this could become a hassle for him at inspection time.
     
  5. formby

    formby learning in progress

    Messages:
    5,735
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    in relation to this subject will an obd1 engine harness plug into an obd2b civic/teg?


    just thought i would ask....

    *not trying to thread jack*

    just more info for other readers... :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
     
  6. SixtySecondAssassin

    SixtySecondAssassin Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    it will only work for obdII intergras. the obdII civic's harness doesnt split at the firewall on the passenger side like earlier civics and integras.
     
  7. drpenguin

    drpenguin Senior Member

    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Location:
    Salem, Or
    im using a obd2 engine harness on my b16 in my EG. everything plugs in and runs. minus the injectors i had to put obd1 clips on it but its all the same for everything else. i think you can even plug the obd1-2 stuff into the harness. the alt, dizzy and all your sensors should be the same plugs and everything.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page