1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

will this engine(swap) work......

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by civicdude007, Jul 18, 2008.

  1. civicdude007

    civicdude007 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Location:
    Dublin, Va
    i am pulling my 1'5l out of my 95 civic and looking for a replacement.i found a d16z6 and it is a single cam vtec engine. the engine was pulled out orinally from a 95 civic . what else do i need to get my civic back on the streets.......is the harness the same , tranny bolt up ...is there anything else i need to purchase?
     
  2. mintoxik

    mintoxik Member

    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Location:
    Oceanside
    if i've read enough on here ya it will work you will need a new ecu and wire up vtec,and new motor mounts. the tranny i dont know about, but i would get the z6 tranny anyway if your going to swap the hole motor
     
  3. civicdude007

    civicdude007 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Location:
    Dublin, Va
    so if i get a harness from a vtec d16 and a computer from the same d16 vtec engine that will be it..........?
     
  4. stevennn09

    stevennn09 Member

    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    :werd:
    only thing. the tranny will fit. but if you can you might as well upgrade as long as it's the same as in auto or standard as the current one. if not it might be hard to convert for someone with not alot of knoweldge. i have a z6 in my car and i actually have grown to like it quite a bit.
     
  5. stevennn09

    stevennn09 Member

    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    i think you can mod the harness to work 4 vtec. i might be wrong though
     
  6. hatukazi

    hatukazi ambitious...but rubbish

    Messages:
    508
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Big Lake, MN
    if you are getting the engine wiring harness from the D16Z6 engine, everything will plug into your original wiring including the ECU.

    some the plugs are tricky to remove but if you take them off the mounts and pull on both sides it helps.
     
  7. delsol88

    delsol88 Blinker Fluid Specialist

    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Location:
    JC,MO
    u can use old mounts in the original car. advice on the tranny, assuming both are manuals, if u want better mpg stick with the 1.5 tranny longer gears so you will get better mileage.
     
  8. mintoxik

    mintoxik Member

    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Location:
    Oceanside
    but if not then just wire up vtec its not that hard
     
  9. Luis998

    Luis998 Honda Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    55
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    All you have to do is either a)run the two wires from your solenoid to your ECU or b) go to www.rywire.com and buy the VTEC wiring harness.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page