1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows 10

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by Briansol, Jun 8, 2015.

  1. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,782
    Likes Received:
    2,277
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    It might not be easy, but it's always possible. windows can't over-ride the cmos reset and a boot disk
     
  2. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,782
    Likes Received:
    2,277
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    I was on my desktop today for a while and got the prompt.
    i'm in queue to get the free upgrade
     
  3. invisibledemon

    invisibledemon Bored Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    7,423
    Likes Received:
    635
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Location:
    Tn
    might whip out my old ass laptop and give it a whirl
     
  4. get_nick

    get_nick These snozzberries taste like snozzberries... VIP

    Messages:
    12,320
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    Washington State
  5. jeffie7

    jeffie7 Wrong Whole! VIP

    Messages:
    13,011
    Likes Received:
    834
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Maryland
    Windows 7 has been solid, as far as Windows 10 goes, I'm keeping 7 on my DAW/Work station at home, but our work computers currently running 8.1 will go to 10 ASAFP holy shit I @#$#@$ hate 8, total piece of chit.
     
  6. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,782
    Likes Received:
    2,277
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    I signed up for it... i barely use my win machine any more. pretty much only when i need to print something because i still have a parallel port printer lol
     
  7. get_nick

    get_nick These snozzberries taste like snozzberries... VIP

    Messages:
    12,320
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    Washington State
    my gf and windows 8 on her computer. what a piece of shit application delivery layout. the search function is garbage.
     
  8. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    31,771
    Likes Received:
    5,570
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    hoping windows stays true to their "every other OS" pattern... and maybe 10 wont suck ass

    10 - ???
    8 - sucks
    7 - good
    Vista - meh
    XP/2000 - good
    ME - possibly the biggest POS ever
    98 - good
    ...
     
  9. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,958
    Likes Received:
    863
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    i don't get the hooplah with 8. it works fine. maybe you're missing out on the touchscreen part - that makes the experience alot better. having 8/8.1 installed on a desktop without touch or a wacom tab makes it a little cumbersome, but you don't need to use the metro start menu. just drop the apps you need in the start bar :)


    i do agree though the built in apps need some work. the ebay app, for one, is terrible. and worse on windows phone.

    it may be tough to think so, but remember the 7 core is underneath there. have you guys had the chance to get into server 2012? its like 8... without the gay.
     
  10. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,782
    Likes Received:
    2,277
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    we're deploying 2k12 on our new grid machines next month.

    :skerd:
     
  11. get_nick

    get_nick These snozzberries taste like snozzberries... VIP

    Messages:
    12,320
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    Washington State
    windows 8 is obviously built with the tablet in mind. it's not optimized for a desktop. Seriously though, trying to bring your mouse pointer to the top right just to open a panel, then click on the option and trying to go from there is a pain in the ass. Working on someones computer who has windows 8 after using anything else flat out sucks.
     
  12. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,958
    Likes Received:
    863
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    server 2012 is solid as a rock. i've upgraded most of my infrastructure to it, except 1 machine running 03 for a goddamn wide format printer, everything else runs 08 and recently, 12.


    nick, since 95 i've controlled windows mostly with keystrokes. you can always push start, then type where you need to go.
     
  13. get_nick

    get_nick These snozzberries taste like snozzberries... VIP

    Messages:
    12,320
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    Washington State
    damn you and your logical solutions.

    My stepmom has a computer with windows 8 on it. I had to download and manage a shell for her that would give her the traditional desktop. She just couldn't/wouldn't try to figure out how to make windows 8 function for her. I even told them not to buy that specific laptop because they would hate it. They bought it anyway and I was stuck doing a whole bunch of shit to make it work for them.
     
  14. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,958
    Likes Received:
    863
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    it isn't about being logical i just like to make it easy :)

    couldn't/wouldn't lol

    i would have put my arms up and said deal with it.
     
  15. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,647
    Likes Received:
    361
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    I also don't see what the big deal is with 8.1. I have it in my asus ultrabook and it works fine. I don't use the metro interface at all. I set it up to boot straight to the desktop. It's 99% the same as win7
     
    TurboMirage likes this.
  16. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,958
    Likes Received:
    863
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    The only big OOPS i find with 8/8.1 is with the license key burned into the bios, i cant effectively image and redeploy multiple hard drives / machines since it fucks UEFI. so we only have a few 8.1 machines in the org, all with touch and the users that have them LOVE them. everyone else gets 7 sp1 x64 with 4 or 8gb ram... for excel and outlook :)
     
  17. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,647
    Likes Received:
    361
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    i used a free copy of win 8 pro (that i got through my gf since she's a student). i replaced the SSD in her old asus zenbook, and asus would not give recovery discs for this machine, their only option was to pay them to replace the SSD, and have them reformat it. fuck that. so I clean installed 8 pro, then upgraded to 8.1 after install. boots right to the desktop. i only have to switch over to the metro screen as a quick was to find recently installed apps to dump them to the task bar.

    the only thing i really HATE about 8/8.1 is the calculator. its only in the metro UI and its forced to fullscreen (or splitscreen), which means i cant have it out on the desktop next to where i would want to be using it and cant seem to have multiple calculators open at once. i hope that's fixed in 10.
     
  18. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,958
    Likes Received:
    863
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    tap start, type calc..... you get the standard one.
     
  19. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,647
    Likes Received:
    361
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    nope.

    "start" on 8.1 is just a link to switch to the metro UI.i dont have any of the third party applications that actually give me the start menu back.

    clicking start -> [type "calc"] -> [enter] just dumps me at the shitty calculator in metro.
     
  20. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,647
    Likes Received:
    361
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    but i did manage to find the old one.

    hitting enter from the search was dumping me at the metro calc because it was the last one used.

    the old calc is now pinned to my start bar. thanks :)
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page