1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows 2k Backup program

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by reckedracing, Feb 8, 2006.

  1. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    having issues, its prompting me with a message saying this media is not blank, would you like to overwrite it

    media = external hard drive, and its not blank cause i have already ran the backup once

    wtf?

    i have looked for an over write etc with no success...

    any hints?
     
  2. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    the built-in backup is just a toned-down version of veritas backup.

    are you doing a step-wise (just the new changed data) or a full backup?
     
  3. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    full backup

    we had/have an ADR onstream tape drive backup but my computer started shutting down and/or logging off during the night

    our tech place (assholes) decided the tape drive was probably failing and causing the computer to shut down or log off while performing its operation...

    so they came and setup up an external HD that runs 120 at walmart for about 350-400

    my boss is less than happy with the external drive because now our mains and the backup are in the same building (we had 3 tapes and would cycle them and remove them from the building in case of fire)

    so i think he's going to get a second HD to cycle them weekly, but right now i'm trying to figure out why its not overwriting the previous days backup...
     
  4. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    there might be some kind or write-protection on the drive. a lot of back up programs put that on there so you don't accidentialyl over-write your data.
     
  5. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    hmmm...

    ok, but if the back up program does that, they how can it do a daily back up?

    and how do i fix it?
     
  6. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    doing a FULL back up daily is stupid IMO.

    do a full once, then do the bit-wise to get the changed data.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page