Windows Vista

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

endlesszeal

I know many of you guys hate windows, but probably a large majority of you guys still use it. Anyway, I havent really been keeping an eye on Windows Vista, but doing some research and it seems pretty cool.

Has anyone gotten a chance to use the beta versions, since theyve been leaked all over? And if yes, how does it compare with XP? What about the "security enhances"?

I'm also hearing a lot of this anti-piracy stuff. What is it and what does it block? I just read that it blocks off high-def stuff only right? Or does that include regular .avi videos, mp3s, etc...

And what the fu*k is this crap about having the right monitors?

I'm still kind of new to this and I've googled, but the more I read the more confused I got. Break it down to laymen's term so the rest of us can understand what are the pro's and con's of Vista.

Thanks Ya'll.

basically, vista is going to try to stop you form not only using crackec copies of vista it self, but all other programs as well.

so your cracked copy of photoshop won't install on vista.... even though it works fine on your xp box.

me, i have no intentions to upgrade to vista. i've just been sitting on my ass waiting for a decent linux distro to come out... the ones that are out there, just don't do it for me.
gimp sucks.
i want photoshop for linux.

the day that happens, windows can kiss my ass bye bye for ever.

since i've been at my company, we've gone from having 1 linux server to over 14 mostly due to my pressing the issue, and them finally ralizing that they are wasitng so much god damn money in licensing.

get this-- some things M$ makes, requires a license for:
- the OS
- EACH processor
- EACH user.

so, if you have a box with 50 users on it, and its a dual processor, you get charged more. its so fucking stupid.

MS is doing themselves in by being greedy.

honestly, the same thing goes for Adobe too.